We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

the chatterbox coffee shop
Ranked #7 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Ayr
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: British
Description: We are a family friendly coffee shop with baby changing & disabled facilities. There is loads of local parking. We offer everything from filled rolls to 2 course lunches & have morning & afternoon deals on everyday. We cook fresh food everyday by our very own chef & endevour to source local produce when possible.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family friendly coffee shop with baby changing & disabled facilities. There is loads of local parking. We offer everything from filled rolls to 2 course lunches & have morning & afternoon deals on everyday. We cook fresh food everyday by our very own chef & endevour to source local produce when possible.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good food at very reasonable coat. Pleasant and efficient staff.
Near Sandgate Bus Station just short walk from centre of Ayr

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnymacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value & great cakes”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely little cafe, staff very friendly and accommodating. Very good value for money and great cakes. Can definitely recommend the millionaire shortbread!

Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chatterbox Ayr lunch time”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Super food great service, a short walk from the beach, and well worth it, I had the soup of the day with a chicken mayo side sandwich and the kids had cheese burgers and bacon rolls, all served in a well presented fashion, would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank DadaC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beans seem to be a recurring problem!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Wife myself and 2 grand kids visited. Both kids wanted beans on toast (which they had on a previous visit), but we were told they did not serve beans after 12 o'clock! Described on their website as being family friendly. Really?? All they did was lose custom to another venue across the road. Will we make a special effort to get there before 12:00 to sample the beans? Don't think so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
762john, Owner at the chatterbox coffee shop, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for you review im dissapointed you didnt enjoy your experience in my establishment.I will always try my best to give customers what they want however sometimes it just isnt possible..we have over 70 items on the the menu hence the reason the breakfast items..(beans,big breakfast etc)stop at 12 noon so my lunch menu can start..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lunch”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a lovely lunch while visiting Ayr, staff were very pleasant and everything was very clean and fresh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the chatterbox coffee shop also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to the chatterbox coffee shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing