We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brian S” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garth Madryn

Garth Madryn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garth Madryn
Ranked #33 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brian S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Thank you Eileen and Jimmy for your lovely hospitality. I would highly recommend the Garth Madryn to anyone looking for comfortable, clean and welcoming surroundings within easy commute of Ayr town centre and surrounding attractions. I was attending a wedding at the nearby Brigadoon Hotel, so only stayed overnight, but should I need to return for longer, I would have no hesitation in contacting Eileen and Jimmy again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

A very comfortable stay with friendly hospitable hosts. Excellent breakfast. Clean & well appointed bedrooms. The B & B is in a quiet area but close to the town of Ayr, the Robert Burns Museum, Culzean Castle and many other interesting places to visit. I would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in the area. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Ayr for a function in the Station Hotel and initially tried for a room there.. Now we're very happy we couldn't get one as it led us to Garth Madryn!

Quiet, clean, comfortable and only 10 mins from the town centre. Our hosts were lovely and very accommodating... It was like being invited into their hone. We were given a key to come back late and breakfast the next day was delicious. Overall very happy!

Craig and Louise, Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brodick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

First stay with Eileen and Jimmy but hopefully not the last! As hosts, they are second to none and made me feel welcome and very much at home in their house. My rooms were very comfortable and clean and everything I could want was provided. There was plenty on offer at breakfast and it was very tasty.

Room Tip: The Garden Room has a living room as well as bedroom and ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Just got back from a couple of days break from the daily grind, picked this place on price and location, wasn't disappointed. Eileen and Jimmy are great hosts. They'll do whatever you want for breakfast, room was clean, place was quiet. No one has mentioned that there is a late night tesco just down the road, good for supplies. Great base if you want to explore the quieter Scotland. There's a good few things to do and see, unfortunately going at the start of March, nothing is open yet. A great place to base if you want to explore Ayrshire and Arran.

Room Tip: Pick the front room, the twin, nice big window, nice big room, plus a nice en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Lovely B&B, all you could want for a very reasonable price. Jimmy and Eileen went to great lengths to ensure a pleasant stay. Very warm and welcoming people. Extremely good value and great for the ferry and the airport.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious, friendly - just what we needed. A lovely American couple were staying at the same time which added to the enjoyment of breakfast. So much more interesting and fun than being in a stuffy hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sherwood Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#14 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.8 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Madryn

Property: Garth Madryn
Address: 71 Maybole Road, Ayr KA7 4TB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly B&B in Ayr. We are situated approximately one mile from Alloway Village, Burns' Cottage, Burns' Birthplace Museum, Brig O'Doon and two miles from Ayr town centre.All rooms are double / twin and enjoy private en-suite facilities. We have a downstairs bedroom with a large en-suite bathroom and its own private sitting room. Upstairs, there are two further bedrooms. All bedrooms have tea / coffee making facilities and are equipped with TV and free WiFi. Enjoy your breakfast in our attractive conservatory dining room, overlooking the picturesque garden. An added bonus to the garden are the quails. Why not enjoy their eggs for a speciality breakfast. Located on the outskirts of Ayr, we are near to the A77 bypass and very easy to locate. We have off-street parking.We also enjoy accommodating guests for weddings at the nearby Brig O'Doon Hotel. A free lift to the hotel is offered. Also handy for nearby Bellisle Golf Course or an easy drive to Culzean Castle.With a friendly service from the owners, Eileen and Jimmy, this is an Ayr bed and breakfast not to be missed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garth Madryn Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing