We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enterkine House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enterkine House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had booked with Groupon voucher On arrival was offered free upgrade to room in the main house the room was very large and decorated beautifully Lots of space for unpacking clothes etc Lovely view onto country side A walk around found us viewing highland cows deer and chickens Lovelyfriendly staff The restaurant staff were all very professional showing great attention to detail the house itself is beautiful with beautifully decorated room the best thing of all was the food - wow ! every dish, breakfast on two mornings and evening meal twice was by far the finest amazingly presented food served Well done and thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    47
    14
    8
    12
See reviews for
36
135
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself & my husband have stayed here several times & each room we have spent the night in has been lovely, comfortable & spotless. The food in the restaurant is delicious & we enjoy going here for special evenings together. The staff fall over themselves to make sure you are looked after. On our first overnight we took our whippet with us, who they were delighted to have stay, though we have since been back a few evenings alone after he scratched some of the paint off the bedroom door & we had to pay £50 to get it rectified.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We held our wedding reception at Enterkine House and stayed for the weekend at the end of August.
We couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.
In preparation for our wedding, staff were always available to help with organisation and planning. The whole team is experienced and offered useful advice, along with local contacts, to help with much of the planning. The organisation was flexible, with efforts made to meet our many requests, no matter how small / large.
On the wedding day itself, the hotel couldn't have been better. The staff were attentive (but not intrusive), and ensured that everything ran smoothly. They were especially aware of older guests needing extra assistance, and made sure that everyone was well looked after.
Drinks reception outside on the lawn was idyllic, followed by meal and reception in the marquee. The food was superb, and service for 160 guests was excellent. The bar was well-staffed and reasonably priced.
Staff ensured that our band/piper/photographers etc were looked-after and fed, and helped get people on to coaches/arrange taxis etc at the end of the night (even personally doing a taxi-run when local taxis were unavailable).
Our stay over the rest of the weekend was terrific. The rooms are excellent, and meals in the house were grand.
I would struggle to criticise anything, and would happily recommend Enterkine House to anyone planning a wedding.

Room Tip: The woodland lodge is idyllic for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at the Enterkine Hotel. The Hotel is lovely, set in beautiful grounds. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to our room (Oswald) which was very comfortable. The evening meal was excellent, service was first class, a big thank you to Colin ,Owen and Fiona who were friendly, attentive and professional . Breakfast was great , we really enjoyed our stay , we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patjanconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in the wooden bothy in the garden area. It was very funky to stay and although we were both 6ft, there was plenty of room. I did feel a bit like Frodo!

However, the bathroom design was rather poor. The taps had to be pulled to turn them and rubbed against the mirror and we were worried we'd break them. The top cover of teh bed was a bit scruffy and had a tear in it. For the price, you'dve expected better. The water also took a long time to drain from the shower and nearly overflowed.

Plenty of good parking.

We eat in the hotel. The food was marvelous. It was silver service as it was for a wedding party. The portions and quality were great. The beef was very thick and cooked beautifully. The wines were also very tasty. The pre-meal champagne reception was very good and we were regularly topped up and had some wonderful canapes.

Breakfast was served by a delightfully friendly lady and was of excellent quality.

Overall, a really good experience, but for the price, I was a bit disappointed over the lack of design thought in the bathroom. The main room and country house itself were both impressive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myshgsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband booked a room for one night in the cottage in grounds of this hotel late on Saturday night. When we arrived on the Monday and checked in we were shown to a beautiful room (Enterkine View) in the main house. As this was not what we had booked we went down to reception to find out if this was supposed to be ours and explained that we had booked to stay in the cottage. The receptionist confirmed that we had been upgraded to the Enterkine View room. What a result! The room is usually used as a bridal suite. It was gorgeous, big, clean, massive bathroom and it had it's very own balcony which overlooked the fields and Enterkine river beyond. The whole of the hotel was very impressive. We did not have dinner, as we had already eaten, but went down to the lounge to have drinks. The service was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was served in the conservatory and we could not fault it. overall the stay was brilliant, service and staff were excellent and it was really clean. We will definitely be going back to stay longer and have dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarni0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were looking for one night away to relax and get away from it all which was not far away from home. Having booked one night dinner, bed and breakfast we were really looking forward to the break. The whole experience met and often exceeded our expectations. We received a very warm welcome, were allocated a lovely room overlooking the countryside and spend the afternoon sitting outside in the garden enjoying the sun and peaceful surroundings. The evening meal was excellent, well presented with attentive service at all time. The breakfast was also very good and it was nice to have eveything brought to your table rather than the usual buffet of juice, cerial etc. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: The Ovall Room was very spacious with excellent views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angusmack66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
4.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
5.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enterkine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine House Hotel

Property: Enterkine House Hotel
Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Enterkine House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enterkine House is a privately owned house situated amongst 350 acres of woodland estate. Choice of main house bedrooms and smaller cottage style Kirk House rooms are available for guests. Food is created by Head Chef Paul Moffat. Offering a gourmet menu and lounge menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Enterkine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr
Enterkine House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing