We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Single Fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enterkine House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not A Single Fault”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I held our wedding here between Christmas and New Year. From the first visit to the day itself, the staff could not have done more for us. After visiting several other well-known wedding venues and being disappointed by the attitude of the staff, Enterkine was a breath of fresh air. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they used their experience to guide us through the planning process, but always keeping our wishes at the forefront of their minds.

The house itself is lovely, and very comfortable (especially sitting in front of the fire on a cold winter night!) and the marquee is absolutely beautiful when set for a wedding. We were so thrilled with the way it looked.

The hotel rooms are all spacious and well-equipped, and the little bothy is just gorgeous.

As great as all the facilities are, the real stars of this show are the lovely staff and brilliant food. Every member of staff we dealt with went the extra mile for us and we couldn't have asked any more of them. The food got great reviews from all our guests and the hog roast in the evening stole the show!

I could go on and on, but I can honestly say that the Enterkine team provide a first class service and I'm so pleased we found them for our wedding. It was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephMcFadzean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    49
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
40
156
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staff were absolutely excellent, especially Ewen who knew how to make an Irish coffee, the room simply could not be bettered, the food, with some great twists on the theme and lovely little extras, the value came from an offer but we have visited previously and this hotels shows others just how to get it right (and I include five stars in that comment!) A great view from the dining room and well worth while going a little out of the road to get there.....this is what hotels should be about!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Less than 20 minutes from the A77 this small country house hotel sits in beautiful Ayrshire countryside. We have enjoyed both lunch and dinner on several previous occasions but this was our first sleepover!
Although we had used an Amazon deal to stay in Kirk House, my husband requested use of the woodland lodge and this was our hideaway just feet from the front door. There was heavy rain overnight and I was concerned that it would be noisy but it was so peaceful, we really felt as though we were miles from anywhere. the decor was luscious and we felt very spoiled. Robes, iron, ironing board, TV, DVDs. CDs, clock radio, fine china... I could go on but nothing was forgotten. There was a bit of a design problem with the tap in the en suite but this did not detract from the experience. The designer had made fantastic use of the space.
Dinner - drinks in front of the roaring open fire, then canapés arrived - 3 each, bursting with flavour. Starters - partridge terrine, main course - venison, dessert - milk chocolate and tonka bean mousse - all beautifully presented by friendly, attentive staff. Back to the fireside for coffee etc. A really enjoyable experience.
Breakfast - a good selection of cereal, fruit salad, cooked breakfast, toast, preserves - home made I would think. Again served at the table by lovely staff.
We felt very taken care of and have often felt like we were in our own home with staff looking after our needs in the nicest possible way. Lots to recommend it.

Room Tip: For privacy choose the Woodland Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CQuinn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 days here at new year and the food ,staff and accommodation were excellent...will be back in the spring.Would particularly recommend the restaurant and the smoked salmon for breakfast.Thanks to all the Fiona's and Cameron

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamscurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

After previously enjoyable visits, this pre Christmas lunch was woeful. Menu was dull and uninspiring. The turkey was all sausage meat, the beef was tough and full of grizzle. Wine was spilled on service (several times) and starter of salmon was minuscule. No atmosphere and amateurish serving staff. Won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cappuccinonotopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had booked with Groupon voucher On arrival was offered free upgrade to room in the main house the room was very large and decorated beautifully Lots of space for unpacking clothes etc Lovely view onto country side A walk around found us viewing highland cows deer and chickens Lovelyfriendly staff The restaurant staff were all very professional showing great attention to detail the house itself is beautiful with beautifully decorated room the best thing of all was the food - wow ! every dish, breakfast on two mornings and evening meal twice was by far the finest amazingly presented food served Well done and thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself & my husband have stayed here several times & each room we have spent the night in has been lovely, comfortable & spotless. The food in the restaurant is delicious & we enjoy going here for special evenings together. The staff fall over themselves to make sure you are looked after. On our first overnight we took our whippet with us, who they were delighted to have stay, though we have since been back a few evenings alone after he scratched some of the paint off the bedroom door & we had to pay £50 to get it rectified.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
4.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
676 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enterkine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine House Hotel

Property: Enterkine House Hotel
Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Enterkine House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enterkine House is a privately owned house situated amongst 350 acres of woodland estate. Choice of main house bedrooms and smaller cottage style Kirk House rooms are available for guests. Food is created by Head Chef Paul Moffat. Offering a gourmet menu and lounge menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enterkine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr
Enterkine House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing