We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special overnight birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enterkine House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a one night stay using our daughters delightful treat using an
Amazon voucher
On arrival staff were extremely courteous showing us around
Our room was Mackay very comfortable great views from all windows
Very spacious bathroom with all mod cons would recommend this room
We had the two course menu great food very well served by pleasant staff
Breakfast service very good well done to all staff
Would certainly return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in April, found the staff really helpful on arrival showing us around the hotel and to our room, we were very impressed by the lovely views from our spacious clean and very comfy bedroom, the bathroom was lovely with extremely relaxing roll top bath. The views were just as good from the restaurant, which was calm and relaxing,just what we needed after a busy week! The food was excellent on both evenings, but would admit that my sea bass on the second evening was actualy only just warm, I did mention this to waitress but had no response from the kitchen which was a little disappointing, but did not detract from the qualityof the food or service and certainly did not spoil our evening. I was impressed with the extras, canapes and amuse bouche, all totally delicious and very skillfully done!Fab experience all round!Would love to return!

Room Tip: Choose Oswald FAB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DENISE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

2 adults staying overnight on 2/5/2014.on arrival we were pleasantly greeted and shown round the hotel.we were given the bridal suite which was fantastic with a large balcony with fantastic views.it was fine dining in the conservatory.the food,service and relaxed atmosphere were excellent.our bed was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.i would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Bridal suite.book on a Friday night.geta special deal then.and it has a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marky1242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a lovely room in the main house. Could not fault it. Staff were very good but tend to disappear as soon as they serve breakfasts. We wanted more coffee ..never did get it!
They seem unable to serve hot food. Served on cold plates does not help the matter! Both our dinner and breakfast were lukewarm. What a great pity. We had been before and had the same problem. Came back hoping it was just a one off..but no luck. Because of this alone we would not go back. The set menu was a bit boring, we were here 6 months ago and it was the same menu. I had difficulty choosing something I liked. The portions are fairly small for such a big price they charge. The Chef needs to come up with some changes..surely it would make things more interesting for him instead of just cooking the same food every night! On that note there is a lot of good points if they could just serve HOT food!!

Room Tip: All rooms in main house are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzybac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and 3 friends booked the Enterkine at the last minute for a night away. We got a late deal for 'A luxurious Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Stay at Enterkine House Hotel'. We arrived at the hotel and were told we were in the farm house out the back. At first glance the rooms looked nice but then we noted poor cleanliness in body hair still in the shower in one room and hair on the floor in the other room. Some of the towels were marked too.

The dinner was very tasty but we were handed a set menu but not informed we only had paid for a 2 course meal. So when asked if we wanted desserts we got one thinking it was included as there was no separate menu with prices. When we got our bill we realised we had been charged £7 per dessert. One of the girls had ordered the Langustine risotto with a description of langustines. She was disappointed when it contained 1 langustine and 2 king prawns and was lukewarm. She did complain and we were given 2 deserts free which was a binus i suppose as we didn't think we had to pay for any as part of the deal.

We asked for a bucket of ice to take back to the room and were charged £3 for the ice. Never had this anywhere before.

I would recommend the restaurant but would not recommend the hotel. The farmhouse had a smell of damp and you can hear other guests through the paper thin walls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 1 night and I would not go back. when we first arrived, I had to ring the bell 5 times before anyone appeared. got to our room & there were cobwebs in all the corners. at dinner, we had to wait for at least 10 minutes before anyone paid any attention to us. dinner was lovely but the manner in which we were spoken to wasn't so lovely. I feel that we were disrespected on the fact we were 21. around 12:30am someone emptied glass bottles into the bin outside directly under our window. this woke me up! the next morning we waited 15 minutes before anyone took us to our breakfast table. we were also not given a menu so we had to ask for one. a waiter then appeared asking for our order within 30 seconds of us having the menu. overall, not impressed. definitely not worth the money. would not stay in the hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clairey237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I held our wedding here between Christmas and New Year. From the first visit to the day itself, the staff could not have done more for us. After visiting several other well-known wedding venues and being disappointed by the attitude of the staff, Enterkine was a breath of fresh air. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they used their experience to guide us through the planning process, but always keeping our wishes at the forefront of their minds.

The house itself is lovely, and very comfortable (especially sitting in front of the fire on a cold winter night!) and the marquee is absolutely beautiful when set for a wedding. We were so thrilled with the way it looked.

The hotel rooms are all spacious and well-equipped, and the little bothy is just gorgeous.

As great as all the facilities are, the real stars of this show are the lovely staff and brilliant food. Every member of staff we dealt with went the extra mile for us and we couldn't have asked any more of them. The food got great reviews from all our guests and the hog roast in the evening stole the show!

I could go on and on, but I can honestly say that the Enterkine team provide a first class service and I'm so pleased we found them for our wedding. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephMcFadzean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
4.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
518 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enterkine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine House Hotel

Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enterkine House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enterkine House is a privately owned house situated amongst 350 acres of woodland estate. Choice of main house bedrooms and smaller cottage style Kirk House rooms are available for guests. Food is created by Head Chef Paul Moffat. Offering a gourmet menu and lounge menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enterkine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr
Enterkine House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing