We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Ayr
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during the October school holidays. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. We used the swimming pool which was a good size and the children really enjoyed playing in.
The location of the hotel is first class, right in the centre of town but not too noisy at night.
Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice.
All in all a great break, reasonably priced and would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tootsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us during the October holidays. I am delighted to read that your family had such an enjoyable break at the hotel.

The pool is an ideal way to keep the kids entertained during an afternoon and I am glad that you were able to make full use of it.

We look forward to the school holidays next year so that we can welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    212
    168
    81
    46
See reviews for
111
261
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

my wife and i were having a night out in Ayr and we had a such a great stay the last time we decided to stay again and can say the hotel didn't disappoint again. from the start we were made to feel very welcome, the receptionist was very polite, booked in without any bother, down side didn't have a room with the sea view but was still a great room. clean&tidy, very comfy bed, didn't want to get up!. made use of the pool but didn't get a chance to make use of other facilities. dinner was fantastic. cooked well. filled me right up for the night ahead! unfortunately to hungover to have breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, I am delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Unfortunately we were unable to allocate you a seawiew room on this occasion as the hotel was particularly busy. I am glad that this did not detract from your stay and we will see if there is anything we can do on your next visit.

I will be sure to pass your praise on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the futrure. Perhaps next time you may be well enough to try breakfast!

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I can down for wee visit for weekend got check in fast the staff at desk were helpful and kind went to room view was beautyful view room was clean tidy housekeeping staff was nice kind slept great bed was great breakfast warm nice staff were real helpful hotel

Room Tip: high floor window side view exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your review, it is always a pleasure reading such positive feedback.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband & I were in town for business, and were offered two hotel options by the person who booked our stay. We chose this hotel based on the very convenient location to the Ayr Gaiety Theatre where we had a show to do. The room was booked well in advance -- at least six weeks prior to our arrival. The room was shockingly small -- about the size of a postage stamp. We asked for a larger room because it was not big enough for us to put our luggage, and even without luggage there is not enough room for two people to walk around. We were told that this was all we could have, as they were fully booked, and that this is the size room that was booked for us. (I don't think so.) They did agree to put two of our bags in a downstairs room, but even so we still had to put one of our bags in the bath tub, as there was no other space for it, and there is still no room for anything. Extremely uncomfortable. The bed is against the wall, so there is no bed bed stand (no room for one) on one side of the bed. There is a tiny closet. The walls are dirty. The bath towels look & feel old and worn, and have a dingy cast to them. The wifi internet is free -- but very slow; any page with pictures takes a long time to load. We needed to do ironing, and it was nearly an impossible task given the complete lack of space. The staff were pleasant enough, even though unaccommodating about providing us a reasonably sized room. The view from our room is actually very beautiful, overlooking the city and the sea. That is the only positive thing I have to say about this cramped, uncomfortable room. I hope never to stay here again.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with space enough for your luggage and yourselves -- but good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLaneEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your comments following your stay with us last weekend although I was disappointed to read that your stay was not a pleasant one. Please accept my apologies.

Due to an error the booking was made for a single person, hence the room you were allocated. I have no doubt that, if a larger room was available, the team would have moved you into another room.

We have a good relationship with the Gaiety Theatre and help accomodate a number of the people that come to perform and help with the shows. It is unfortunate that this situation came about.

Again, I would like to thank you for your feedback and wish you every success for the future.

Kind Regards

LIndsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Travelling between visits to friends and relatives, we found this hotel by accident having driven round Ayr unsuccessfully to find suitable accommodation. The staff at reception were very pleasant, the room was what one would expect in a chain hotel--clean and comfortable with basic elements in the bathroom. Took us a while to find the second set of towels--never found the spare towels in a drawer before-- usually sets for both occupants are found together on the bed or in the bathroom. The parking was a bit of a problem--lots of it but for strangers a bit hard to find when trying to park to book into the hotel. The wifi instructions were a bit hard to follow. Signs around the hotel said it was free but a message on the TV screen had charges. A very helpful staff member explained the system a bit late to be of use to us. The breakfast included in the room rate was pretty good but the poached eggs were not freshly cooked which was a bit of a disappointment. Overall, we found our stay to be a good one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback folowing your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

WIFI is available throughout the hotel free of charge to our guests however we will shortly be enabling guest's to upgrade to high-speed WIFI which would be chargable. I am assuming that this is perhaps where the confusion may lie. I am glad that the team did try to explain and rectify this situation for you.

I was a little confused about your comments regarding your poached eggs. This is an option available at breakfast that is solely cooked to order and therefore freshly done each time.

I am glad that these small issues did not spoil your stay and you were able to enjoy your time in Ayr. Hopefully, should you ever be passing through this way again, we may be able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The heading above says it all, very poor value for the money we parted with. We payed a little extra for a superior room and feel robbed. The room was VERY dirty, dated, most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on, net curtains ripped & stained, cobwebs festooned the room, stained carpets, moldy bathroom, poor shower, no bath robes in room and no trouser press in room. We did not sleep a wink and eventually got up at 5am packed our bags and left as soon as we could. They advertise free super fast WiFi for superior rooms but this is not true, got told they are still waiting for BT to set up the super fast WiFi so would have to put up with the standard WiFi connection which was the slowest I have ever encountered, don't advertise something you don't have!!!! Wish we had stayed in the Premier Inn which would have been half the price and more comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I was disappointed to read about the issues with your room. Please accept my apologies.

I believe that our Head Housekeeper has been in contact with your partner reegarding these issues and hope that this has lead to a satisfactory outcome.

I am delighted however that we awere able to help make the function attended by your partner a big success.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing