We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not the best but staff and atmosphere made up for :)”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hotel not the best but staff and atmosphere made up for :)”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hubby and I stayed here last night for 1 night and had a brilliant time visiting Ayr!

Hotel not the nicest as quite dated and room was tiny (665) but had a lovely sea view which we requested. It's very central which is ideal for nightlife eating out and stuff. It was clean which I suppose is the main thing but at £100 for 1 night inc breakfast I expected it to be nicer. For an extra £35 you can stay in the Marriott which is sooo much nicer and special.

Hubby went to breakfast I didn't as had quite a bit to drink the night before so couldn't face it lol. He said it was delicious and it was all you can eat buffet. Drinks in bar not too bad price wise but go next door to Smiths for excellent bar prices. The Ghana team were staying here and were very nice. My hubby had great fun posing for photos with them all lol. The staff in particular Chris are a credit to you. They are extremely efficient and go the extra mile for customer service taking time to chat and recommend places to visit. Appreciated the complimentary wifi also :)

Would I stay here again - If we got a good price then probably because it is clean and very central. I scored 3/5 as I do like to have a bit of luxury when staying in hotels and for the price there just wasn't any. Its been a while we have stayed somewhere that give you a double bed - king size is the usual.

Thanks guys though for your hospitality and for helping make a great stay in Ayr :)

Room Tip: High floor sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappychickGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that, on the whole, you had an enjoyable visit to Ayr.

I am delighted that you have sang the praises of the team, in particular Chris who always goes that extra mile to make your experience as positive as possible. I will be sure to pass your comments on to them.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again and we will all look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    220
    186
    87
    49
See reviews for
120
283
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Yes it does need a wee upgrade and wifi is a bit patchy but it is a fantastic hotel with hard working generous staff.
After a wee hiccup at booking that was sorted out magnificently by the lovely lyndsay , we can't thank lyndsay enough for her wonderful, professional actions that restored our faith in the mercure hotel.
Actions do speak louder than words, a tremendous leader.

The food is great the drink is still pricey but lyndsay is trying to get this sorted.

The rooms are spacious and always clean.
Lyndsey our house keeper was always happy to help.
No trip without mentioning chris would be complete.
Mr Mercure chris is everywhere a wonderful worker and so helpful.
Andrew and david and james did impress us with their hard work.
Shann in the gym was a standout.
Nearly forgot dianella at reception bubbly, freindly, kind if only all at the reception desk had her manner.
We love it, so will you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I am delighted that, once over the initial blip with your booking, you and the family (Dad included) had another enjoyable experience. I will of course pass on your compliments to the team, especially those mentioned within your review.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we will look forward to being able to welcome you all back soon.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Paid over £100 pounds to stay in what they call a superior room (a joke) room and bathroom in need of a redoing entrance to hotel lovely but in lift ok on exiting lift however full place is in need of a lick of paint staff ok but would not recommend anyone to go here

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to hear your comments but shall pass these on to the team as we aim to provide a superior service.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was the organiser of a party of 18 golfers who stayed here as our base for 5 days playing golf.

The hotel arranged all the golf and I got a brilliant price on the rooms, everything went faultless and the staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient, we will certainly go back when we next visit Ayr.

The hotel is a little rough around the edges, but the rooms where warm, clean and nicely decorated, they are a little small though, but to be honest they were big enough for us, we shared twin rooms.

The breakfast was the normal affair for a hotel, buffet hot selection, nothing out of the ordinary, you could order some specials from the menu such as Kippers but our experience of these wasn't great, but the poached eggs were brilliant !, overall the breakfast was average.

Our only real compliant was the bar prices, terribly high, 2 drinks were almost £10, I've stayed in hotels in the centre of London with cheaper prices, go to the bar next door, they are half the price, to me this is bad for the hotel as they lost out on a lot a drinks from our group because of the very high prices.

its centrally located with everything a very short walk within 5 minutes, perfect location.

Room Tip: Higher the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay following your recommendation.

Your comments will be passed on to the team who I know will take great encouragement from your kind words. They are often praised for their friendly, helpful nature and I am pleased that you have commented positively.

As a branded hotel it is out-with our direct control where it comes to the price of beverage. These decisions are made at head office as a standard across all our hotels.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel had really friendly and helpful staff. the location was approximately 1 1/2 blocks from the bus station with a stop almost at the front door. The downtown area was about a block away as well and that was good. Looks like most of the main stores in town have moved out but it was still quaint for walking around. it was nice to see the older buildings and churches still there.

Room Tip: we had a view of the ocean! perfect view the town, it was a very quiet and secure building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I am delighted that you all had an enjoyable break.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who I know will appreciate your kind words.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is very-tired and needs re furb, urgently
Very unfriendly staff on reception
Can't see why it's 3 star.
Cost a lot for poor quality
Location good for town central
Would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevnetbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for the feedback following your recent stay with us.

We hope that we will at some point over the near future be able to address your concerns regarding refurbishment and hope that we may be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
876 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing