We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LittleTired”
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A LittleTired”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at he Mercure to watch bowling at Northfield the hotel is certainly central to the town and handy for busses etc. but have to agree with other comments the hotel is tired and is in need of a face lift.
We stayed in an upgraded room which had a few extras like a Nespresso coffee machine but there was no slippers not a problem as we were only staying three nights.
Our deal included breakfast this is where it goes downhill the cereal plates were warm where as the plates for hot food were cold the hot dishes were crammed in a corner so everybody was jammed in one corner the food was swimming in grease the marmalade ran out on the first morning we were informed that they were waiting on a delivery so the second morning it was a scoop on a saucer for everybody to share.
On a positive note the staff were very friendly.
Be warned you have to pay for parking your car £2.00/day and it is not a big car park.
In conclusion the hotel was alright for a few days but would not like to spend any longer there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us over the bowls weekend. I am disappointed that your stay was not without a few minor issues. Please accept my apologies.

Your feedback is very improtant to us and your comments have been passed on to those departments mentioned.

I am pleased that the team did their utmost to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible.

I do hope that you might choose to stay with us again, perhaps for next year's tournament.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    220
    177
    82
    48
See reviews for
119
271
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we wanted a base to explore ayr and also somewere we could relax at the pool. This hotel ticked those boxes as the location was great just beside the bus station and the pool gave us somewere to unwind. Our package included a dinner and the food served was lovely. Breakfast at the hotel was good with the choice of having items such as eggs benedict cooked fresh. The hotel reception and bar area are fairly modern but once you go towards the rooms the hotel becomes a bit outdated. The rooms could do with being updated but for the price and location we can't complain

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ryan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments. We are aware that areas of the hotel are in need of modernistaion and we hope that funds will be released to do so.

I will be sure to share your praise with the team and we hope you will come back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I took my gran here for a break to watch the bowling competition being held at Northfield Bowling Green. When we arrived at the hotel it looked generally tired and in need of an update. We checked in and I was slightly confused about the whole paying for parking situation. We then made our way to our room on the 3rd floor, we hit a problem straight away my gran is mobile but requires a wheelchair as she cannot walk for long periods of time so when getting in the lift with her in her wheelchair, me and all our luggage the length of time the lift doors stayed open for was not long enough, we then had this race everytime we were using the lifts. The room was lovely and spacious and the bed was comfy despite asking for a twin we were put in a double but this was only a minor problem. The shower was a bit rusty and the sink tap wouldn't give us cold water at all no matter how much i fiddled with the tap. Then at breakfast the service was shocking we couldn't get a table as they all were cluttered with dirty dishes that hadnt been cleared. hlaf the food on the menu was not on the buffet and they had no butter for toast, also we weren't given teaspoons for our coffee. we overheard many other guests complain about our same issues. After the breakfast experience we decided to eat out for dinner and upon returning to the hotel the car park was ridiculous there were no spaces and guests had just abandoned their cars, obviously the hotel were not monitoring their carpark. I went in and spoke to the receptionist about where to park as i had my gran in a chair and i was not willing to pay for more parking, i got told to park in the pub next doors car park. Overall it was an average stay and i do not think i would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with your Gran. I am disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. Please accept my apologies.

We are very fortunate to have such a central location in Ayr, however this does mean that outside space comes at a premium. During the Bowls weekend the hotel was full and this can mena that the car park becomes incredibly busy. I understand that with a wheelchair this can prove problematic.

Your breakfast issues is an area that we are constantly trying to improve. Guests have the opportunity to come down for breakfast as they choose. This can mean that when everybody in the hotel comes down in a short space of time it is very difficult to service. We will of course be looking into this to improve in the future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel looks as if it needs a good makeover, it is quite sad. The maintenance of basics does not seem to happen, for instance no hot water two days and no rush to fix it. Extractor fan , although reported as broken not fix end the five days of being there. The bar was very expensive for a very average bar, but the worst thing was the food service was terrible. The bedroom itself was not too bad, the bedding and towels were clean and the bed comfortable. However the shower was rusty, and the floor was not clean in the bathroom. The fitness club was very old and not clean, only one shower was available. The only toilets downstairs was disgusting. The gents toilets did not have one lockable door. Overall the Hotel was very poor, and I would find it hard to recommend it to antone.

Room Tip: Get a room with a decent view. As a handicapped user it doesn't matter if you need a room on gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefpettyofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I am disappointed that your stay was not enjoyable. Please accept my apologies.

On one morning we did have an issue with the boilers failing through the night, only being made aware when our guests were showering taht morning. However this was duly fixed and hot water made available that same evening. The extractor fans are all integrated into a central system which works on a timer to be switched on during peak times.

With regards to the gents toilets, I would agree that they could possibly do with upgrading, however all the doors have working locks on them so I am slightly confused.

We shall of course take your comments on board as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Hotel, arriving Friday 13th June for 3 nights.
My wife and I used to work at this hotel for a number of years over 18 years ago and thought it would be nice to go down memory lane and stay as a guest all these years later.

On arrival we were surprised that to park in the hotel car park you had to pay for each night even though your were a paying guest.

The decor and carpets were very worn in some places, 18 years on were still the same with some minor visible repairs here and there, notably the curve stairs up to the first floor brass rails were grubby and at the top on the right rail was stuck together with tape after it had at some point been broken.
Outside the hotel entrance had hanging plastic plant holder with plastic plants in them which just made the overall appearance very shabby.

The conference rooms were dirty with tables and chairs all over the place and even had the message boards when this hotel was owned by Jarvis outside them

The room we had on the 5th floor was very tired with net curtains that had seen better days, linen was clean but the room overall was a big let down.

The leisure club was extremely tired verging on dirty, when we visited a staff member was sitting on a leather couch eating lunch and when he asked if he could help us we replied were only having a look then quickly sat down and continued with his lunch.
Staff behind the bar were polite and courteously dealt with us but again the whole area had not moved on in nearly 20 years.

We had been told that it would be best to book an appointment for lunch on Sunday thinking they were busy, we booked a table for 1pm for 4 adults.
When we arrived around 12:30 we waited for nearly 10 minutes then had to go to the reception asking if someone could serve us at the bar.
Eventually served we then went into the restaurant to find we were the only ones booked for the whole duration.
The service we received made us all feel we were inconveniencing them by being in the restaurant with the female member of staff leaving at 3pm without a hello or goodbye.

Breakfast was self service and all the food was okay along with the breakfast staff who made us feel welcome.

My wife did complain on departing about the overall decor and how rundown the whole hotel is to be told that they are waiting on being refurbished at some point but it is up to head office.
The manager was in the background during this conversation and never even stood forward to acknowledge our concerns.

Overall we were very disappointed withe how grubby the hotel was and that after nearly 20 years barely nothing had changed.

Would we go back - NO - Would we stay in another Mercure hotel very doubtful

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th and 6th floor west facing offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us 20 years after being an employee here. I am sorry that your trip down memory lane was a disappointing one.

Although there are many points regarding the need for modernisation and refurbishment, I would like to say that the leisure club is always kept to a high standard of cleanliness. This really is a must in this area as I am sure you can appreciate.

We are as you say, hopeful that we are allowed to spend some money to update the public areas and that this is done sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff when we arrived were very friendly and helpful allowing us to leave our luggage and helping us with parking. The hotel is a bit dated and I can't comment on the services as we didn't use any of them. The night porter was helpful checking us in at midnight however when we got to our room someone else had been checked into our room! An honest mistake I believe which the staff apologised numerous times for. The location is great for the train station which was ideal for us as we were heading to Glasgow for the games. Car Parking great too

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am incredibly sorry about the mix-up with your room. It is not often that two people check-in with more-or-less identical names.

I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and we will hope to be able to welcome you back on future visits to Ayr.

KInd Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Property: Mercure Ayr Hotel
Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing