We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. This was our second visit and won't be our last. Staff are friendly, helpful and made us feel special. Room - the Churchill Suite - was incredible. Warm, luxurious and huge. The breakfasts set us up for the day. The dinners were superb. The chef has real talent for presentation and quality. Gret local quality ingredients cooked superbly. Staff in bar and restaurant are friendly and attentive yet not overpowering. A really great hotel - and we have stayed and eaten in some tp hotels including 3 star Michelin in Rome so we know quality.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Petemcgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    162
    59
    22
    13
See reviews for
84
300
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, it was part of a business trip where other guests joined and left us during the weekend. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We had to make a variety of room changes to accommodate our guests, there were some late nights involved and other requests, all of which were handled in a very professional manner by helpful staff. The hotel itself is beautiful too. Why can't they all be so good?!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The second stay in just over 12 months. On both occassions my colleagues and I had a pleasant stay. Staff are friendly and welcoming, food was well presented and the leisure facilities, including a swimming pool, were more than adequate. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devizesbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a great time at the Fairfields Hotel the staff were really friendly and the food was great,The room was clean comfortable and spacious. It has a great location for the beach and town centre will definitely recommend it to my friends and will be back for another holiday.

Room Tip: good value and great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very nice hotel in Ayr. Big room, big comfortable bed and massive bathroom. Wifi was free and easy to use. Ate in the restaurant , food was passable, it was very quiet. Breakfast was lovely with hot dishes cooked to order and praise be, real coffee in a cafetiere (and one in your room to boot) - so few hotels do this I usually bring my own but I hadn't on this occasion and was grateful for a decent cup of coffee. I was disturbed in the night by loud American voices chatting in the car park right outside my window but the hotel can't be blamed for the inconsideration of other guests. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had a great time at the Fairfield. My husband and I went with another couple and really enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent and the staff and service were first class. Thanks to Roselyn who looked after our return booking ensuring everything was perfect.

Mr and Mrs Macdonald Cardonald Glasgow

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Myself and my husband had a lovely overnight stay at the Fairfield, from the moment we drove up we thought it looked beautiful. The staff was very welcoming and helpful,our room was very spacious with sea views.It was very large, comfortable and the bathroom spotless.The food was also delicious, and the lounge and bar are gorgeous. We would definately have a return visit and would recommend this hotel to everyone thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,057 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Property: Fairfield House Hotel
Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing