We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No apologies for another review. One of my favourite hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stumbled on this hotel a couple of years ago, it is just under 50 miles from our home. Far enough to feel that we are away from home but close enough to be able to enjoy the luxury of this gem of a hotel without having to spend all day getting there. Giving us more time to relax and we have been able to return several times and it is now our location of choice for a short getaway.

This time it was a late “celebration” of my wife’s birthday and we received another warm welcome that seems to come so naturally from all the staff. The warm welcome may have been helped as this must have been one of the hottest days this summer on the west coast of Scotland. So much so that we ventured from the hotel across the Low Green, which has history dating back to the 14th century, towards the beach which is a gentle stroll across this expanse of grassland and is a natural attribute adjacent to the hotel to enjoy. There was a gentle cooling breeze coming off the sea and the signs posted at the beach indicate the highest quality of water standard by SEPA.

The hotel is so well appointed on the edge of such a natural beauty spot and the view across the River Clyde to Arran is one to be seen especially if you are lucky enough to see a sunset.

Refreshed we returned to our room to change for dinner. Dinner was again excellent the standard of the chef never seems to falter and from listening to comments from fellow diners everyone appeared to agree. We then retired to the terrace to enjoy what was left of our wine and again enjoy the surroundings of the hotel.

This being “the height of summer” and the beautiful weather, daylight seemed to go on until the “wee small hours”. So one feature of the room which was welcome was total blackout curtains. The room was instantly turned into darkness which induced an ambiance which encouraged sleep, or was that the wine.

Waking for breakfast was a gentle experience until we opened the curtains, it was going to be another lovely sunny day. You could have started the day with a dip in the pool, we settled for another stroll on the Low Green followed by a full Scottish breakfast and the day had begun.

Another faultless stay at this gem of a hotel. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLB-GOUROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

we went to Ayr for a long weekend ,Sat to Tues , we found the hotel very reasonably priced we got a discount for booking on line .The bedroom we had was enormous and so was the bed ,the bathroom on suite was very large too , it was all lovely and clean with the usual hotel extras ,shampoo etc ... the breakfast was included in the price which was a full English in the restaurant Two of the evenings we ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and we had some fantastic food at a very reasonable price , all in all a really nice place and everyone was so friendly ,we like Scotland and we shall visit again sometime .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if you want one ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNN229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here in early July for 2 nights. The hotel was quiet on our first night which they said was unusual, but busier on the second night. Had a lovely double room with great sea views, huge bathtub. The food in the restaurant was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good. If you are staying in Ayr, the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Was at the Fairfield House Hotel last weekend for an overnight stay to celebrate my birthday. I have been in Ayr on many occasions however I have never noticed this hotel before. The hotel sits a little bit back from the beach (separated by a grassed area) however the view from the hotel was excellent. We were on the BB&EM package and this also allowed us full access to the leisure facilities (pool, gym, sauna & steam room). The pool is quite small but is ideal and the other facilities are of a good standard. Dinner was very nice and the staff were all warm and friendly and offered plenty of advice and help with the selection of food. Breakfast was nice in the morning - all the usual things are available and again the staff were very helpful and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to others and if I am back in Ayr again I would stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Martin room which is large, roomy however there is no sea view. Good nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I travel regularly to Ayr with my job. This is simply one of the best hotels in the western part of Scotland. The rooms are clean, spacious and the 'Ayr' Room is just fantastic. Food is good, the smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast are sublime. The staff are so friendly. I've been coming here for over five years, and standards haven't ever slipped. There is just one major criticism. More chocolate lime sweets at reception please ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel was great, large rooms and exceptional staff. Super huge bathtubs! Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast! There are no elevators in the hotel (adds to the charm) but be ready to climb!
The staff at the reception was amazing, extremely helfpul and very customer service oriented. Our group had no complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again for much longer time.
Loved the breakfast served. The bar area is quite nice.
The decor in the hotel is charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stopped here on the way back to England from the North West Highlands. The hotel is a lovely building, and the room was comfortable and clean. The decor wasn't entirely to my taste, but that's a personal thing and as I say it was clean and well looked after. The bed was smaller than we are used to, and very squeaky... even turning over in bed created a bit of a racket!

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and the meal was excellent quality. The waiting staff were chatty and friendly, and apart from a few disturbing paintings the surroundings were pleasant. We got a very nice table in the window and felt very honoured. The breakfast was equally good quality, and we felt the hotel was good value for money.

All the staff we came into contact with were amazingly polite and friendly, and they really did seem to go out of their way to make you welcome. The lady at the reception desk was just lovely and so helpful.

The hotel is practically next to the beach, so we went for a lovely walk after dinner. This helped with the digestion since I had stuffed myself with the delicious restaurant food!

Oh - and there is super-fast wi-fi access too, all included.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglogermancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing