We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed one night in Ayr, to visit Dumfries House in Cumnock. Lovely situation, very clean, friendly receptionist, nice big room, really liked the lighting in bedroom and bathroom, I have poor eyesight and usually find hotel rooms too dark. Dinner was excellent, only very small thing was that I had booked a table for dinner when I booked room and confirmed it with reception on arrival, but when we went to dining room they had no booking for us, but soon found us a table.
Breakfast was also very good. Would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Not a complaint what so ever, beautifull hotel,we stayed for an over night staff gave us a free upgrade, which was great..lovely big rooms. Churchill suite great, loved the big bathroom, Spotless clean and food fab, the staff are so nice and friendly. will definitely be back for more

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine_cookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

During my recent golfing odyssey to the UK, I found myself at this marvellous little gem in Ayr, Scotland for 3 nights.

The hotel is nestled happily at the end of the common, which runs between it and the beach. So, plenty of sea air and activities for the children with fairs and playgrounds close by.

I was welcomed by the lovely Morven, who made sure my every need was expertly attended to and happily assisted with several incidental items for which I asked her help with. She always did it with such good grace and favour it was a pleasure to work with her.

Fairfield House is an old style hotel with a beautifully appointed foyer with a beautiful staircase from which you can make a grand entrance!

I was in an executive suite, which was spacious and comfortable, with a large and modern bathroom. (Showers are over the bath, which can be challenging to get in and out of).

Beds are comfortable, but not luxurious, unfortunately.

Rooms have high ceilings which adds to the feeling of spaciousness.

Most importantly, the rooms were very clean and tidy.

And then there is the restaurant - Martin's Bar and Grill, which was sheer delight and indulgence. After the excellent first night dining there I continued to return for the subsequent two nights as the quality of the food, the presentation was superb. Chef Liam does a fabulous job with his food and its presentation Readers should refer to the restaurant item posted in that section.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay, supported by excellent staff, a great restaurant, peace and tranquillity and a jolly good time.

Room Tip: ASk for a first floor room / suite, overlooking the sea and the Island of Annan - will only add to t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had an overnight stay & dinner here as a treat for my birthday. From start to finish we enjoyed our stay & the staff were pleasant & attentive. The food was excellent. I previously stayed in this hotel several years ago & enjoyed the atmosphere, friendly & professional staff but most of all the excellent food. It was as good as I remembered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a friend's wedding in Ayr. Arrived to a lovely welcome and was looking forward to our stay after reading the great reviews and paying a room rate worthy of a good 4/5 star hotel.

The first room we were given was a junior suite type with a great sized bathroom however it was on the ground floor with a very small window and dark, thick curtains and pelmet. It was really disappointing as it was a lovely day outside but there was no natural light. Not great when you're getting ready for a wedding!! The receptionist was very accommodating and we moved to the first floor. We were offered a further move when another, larger room would be available however we were out all day at the wedding so it seemed too much hassle to move again the next day. The room we moved to was on the first floor and lovely and bright. The decor was a little dated and the bathroom could do with upgrading or a good steam clean- lime scale build up on the taps and grout a little black in places. A few small updates would bring this hotel up to the 4 star standard. I appreciate traditional decor and features however a change to the dated bedspreads and curtains would work wonders.

I think we have been unfortunate with our room as the other reviews are so positive. I wouldn't choose to stay here again as there are other similar budget hotels that other wedding guests stayed in of much higher, consistent quality.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emmak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stumbled on this hotel a couple of years ago, it is just under 50 miles from our home. Far enough to feel that we are away from home but close enough to be able to enjoy the luxury of this gem of a hotel without having to spend all day getting there. Giving us more time to relax and we have been able to return several times and it is now our location of choice for a short getaway.

This time it was a late “celebration” of my wife’s birthday and we received another warm welcome that seems to come so naturally from all the staff. The warm welcome may have been helped as this must have been one of the hottest days this summer on the west coast of Scotland. So much so that we ventured from the hotel across the Low Green, which has history dating back to the 14th century, towards the beach which is a gentle stroll across this expanse of grassland and is a natural attribute adjacent to the hotel to enjoy. There was a gentle cooling breeze coming off the sea and the signs posted at the beach indicate the highest quality of water standard by SEPA.

The hotel is so well appointed on the edge of such a natural beauty spot and the view across the River Clyde to Arran is one to be seen especially if you are lucky enough to see a sunset.

Refreshed we returned to our room to change for dinner. Dinner was again excellent the standard of the chef never seems to falter and from listening to comments from fellow diners everyone appeared to agree. We then retired to the terrace to enjoy what was left of our wine and again enjoy the surroundings of the hotel.

This being “the height of summer” and the beautiful weather, daylight seemed to go on until the “wee small hours”. So one feature of the room which was welcome was total blackout curtains. The room was instantly turned into darkness which induced an ambiance which encouraged sleep, or was that the wine.

Waking for breakfast was a gentle experience until we opened the curtains, it was going to be another lovely sunny day. You could have started the day with a dip in the pool, we settled for another stroll on the Low Green followed by a full Scottish breakfast and the day had begun.

Another faultless stay at this gem of a hotel. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLB-GOUROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

we went to Ayr for a long weekend ,Sat to Tues , we found the hotel very reasonably priced we got a discount for booking on line .The bedroom we had was enormous and so was the bed ,the bathroom on suite was very large too , it was all lovely and clean with the usual hotel extras ,shampoo etc ... the breakfast was included in the price which was a full English in the restaurant Two of the evenings we ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and we had some fantastic food at a very reasonable price , all in all a really nice place and everyone was so friendly ,we like Scotland and we shall visit again sometime .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if you want one ,
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNN229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing