We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here using a KGB voucher and were very pleased. It's a lovely old hotel, privately owned I believe, with public rooms done out in different styles. We were given a large room overlooking the garden, very comfortable though a little shabby, however, I could see that maintenance and refurbishment were being carried out at the hotel.
The garden was lovely, (although needed some attention) with tables and chairs and umbrellas provided, and lots of trees making it quite private. There is also a children's play area towards the bottom of the garden providing equipment and space for exploring.
Both dinner and breakfast were excellent, and very good value, particularly with a 2 for 1 offer.
Staff were very friendly, helpful, accommodating and professional.
Although it doesn't have a pool of its own, it has an arrangement with the local leisure centre.
Internet is available and free.
If I were to go to Ayr again, I would definitely stay here, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: room 6 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

The lady who greeted us at reception couldn't have been more friendly, and even though we hadn't booked and the restaurant was busy she conjured up a table. Particularly good for us was how they made the children welcome (play area out the back). We thought it was excellent value for money for good quality food - all plates clean! Would definitely recommend
One minor issue was that our waitress was rather less friendly than all the other staff.....but maybe she was having a bad day; who knows?

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kascos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable time. everything was spot on room/staff/food well worth the room rate.we were made very welcome by all the staff and manager rod. my friend and i hope to be returning in the near future

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansun444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Had an overnight with breakfast and dinner while doing some sightseeing around Ayr. Location was ideal. Near the burns museum and a short drive to culzean castle.

The meal was a 3 course dinner. My wife enjoyed the tomato soup while the black pudding was the best I've had. For the main course we both chose the roast beef which was lovely. To finish, for dessert i had a nice ice cream sundae while my wife enjoyed her rhubarb crumble. We were both full after the meals.

The breakfast selection catered for pretty much anything. I had a lovely fry up which set me up for more sightseeing.

We would definitely recommend staying at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just back after staying at the Savoy Park using a voucher for dinner bed and breakfast.
We arrived to a very friendly welcome were given early entry to our lovely room and enjoyed a 2 for 1 lunch. As I am celiac I was very impressed with the care and attention given to me at lunch and dinner when choosing suitable food for my diet. All the meals were freshly cooked using local ingredients and were of a very high standard.
I would recommend a stay at the Savoy Park, but for visitors to Ayr, a delicious lunch or dinner is excellent value.
Finally I would like to thank all staff for a very pleasant visit.
Janetta

Room Tip: There is ample car parking and a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on a deal including dinner and breakfast. We had an average room with a lovely view over the gardens of the Hotel. The bathroom was huge and had a big 3 corner deep bath which was great. My only criticism of the room was that there were no bedside cabinets, the carpets were badly stained and the pillows were a bit smelly although had clean linens on them. The food more than made up for that. The dinner was exceptional in presentation and taste. The black pudding fritters as a starter were absolutely delicious as was all the meal. A really good coffee was included and it just rounded the meal off. I would definitely recommend the food in this Hotel and the staff we encountered were pleasant. Breakfast was buffet style with eggs to order, best egg I have tasted in a long time. All the produce for this hotel is sourced locally and it is the very best. best value deal I have ever had so far.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Have just returned from an overnight stay here. This is a lovely hotel we had room 6 which was a lovely spacious room with a lovely view of the garden. We only had breakfast which was great good choice and a high standard. All in a great hotel which we would love to return to.

Room Tip: The garden is very pretty so any room overlooking the garden would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £65 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing