We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I would like to thank your reception staff for all their help and understanding on our recent visit they were great in going out of there way to try and sort out problems that we had we would certainly visit again

Paul and Janice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    186
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
185
425
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

attended awedding here recently from beginning to end everything was excellent,they allowedus into our room early to enable us to get changed for the wedding ,the wedding ceremony went like clockwork ,very proffessional and no fuss, the staff are to be commended because there were small children attending and made their job difficult but they carried on and done a grand job .the meal was very good and plenty of it ,my only disappointment was they do not carry a selection of cider it was draught blackthorn only i prefer fruity cider but had to make do with bottled beer.the room we had was very comfortable not luxurious but made you feel at home .all in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Every year my husband's family have a family lunch in an hotel in Ayrshire. We use different hotels. This year, it was decided to go to the Savoy Park as we hadn't been there before. Certainly it was an old building but it did have a certain ambience. The meal itself left a lot to be desired. I had turkey which had a slice of dark turkey meat and I found it very tough. The service was very poor. We had to wait nearly an hour between courses. Needless to say, nobody ordered any tea or coffee. The general concensus of our family was that we won't be going back to this hotel again for our Christmas lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benidormlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoddieH, Owner at Savoy Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and bringing these issues to our attention
.
Firstly I would like to apologise for the poor quality of service and food you experienced at my hotel during your family Christmas lunch party.

I have spoken with our Head Chef and Duty Manager and can assure you that the issues mentioned will be investigated and where necessary staff training will take place. We are working very hard to improve the quality of our meals and service and your feedback is extremely valuable.

I have been in contact with your sister in law personally and have discussed the issues with her and have organised suitable recompense.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a much better dining experience in the future.

Roddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay. Excellent quality / price value. A ten minute walk to the town center. Friendly staff, they make you feel at home. Historical building, transformed into a hotel, since 1960. Beautiful lounge with a fireplace. The food they serve, breakfast or dinner, is super !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vosje59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As a guest at a wedding here, I have to say it was a superb venue and the staff couldn't do enough for the bride, groom and family. The layout and setting is traditional and there were many splendid backgrounds to take photographs. The meal was a treat with very good portions and superb service.

The room was ideal for what we needed, we were in there only to sleep, but the breakfast the next day was delicious and many guests returned to the buffet tables again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We got a good deal 3 nights for price of 2 and like most of the reviews we cannot find any fault
with the hotel. We were in room 12, the view over the gardens and the sea was a wonderful surprise, again like some reviews the stairs are bit steep but we managed alright. The food was superb, the breakfasts on all 3 mornings was the best we have had in a hotel with eggs cooked fresh to order. We ate in the evening at the hotel, the food was excellent on both occasions with a good selection on the menu. We cannot thank the staff enough for there service and politeness
they are a credit to the hotel, the only problem we had was the racing at Ayr was abandoned but you cannot blame the hotel. We would certainly stay again when in the area and would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 12 great views no noise large bathroom with corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just had our wedding here and it was totally fantastic from beginning to end. The staff couldn't do enough for us and our guests (they even popped to the shop for one of our guests) and it really helped to make our day so special. The wedding meal was lovely, with huge portion sizes. Drinks were a wee bit expensive, but that's just hotel prices. Some of the wedding party had dinner the night before and they had said that their meal was really nice, and that the 2 for 1 was great value. Every room was well equipped and of brilliant quality and the family rooms were a really good size. We all had such a good sleep and woke to a gorgeous breakfast. Everywhere in the hotel was totally spotless. We will definitely be back for a return visit and I hope we can make it soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amc300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
5.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Property: Savoy Park Hotel
Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your arrival you'll immediately feel welcome and at home. The Savoy Park has been under the stewardship of the Henderson family for over fifty years. You'll experience genuine hospitality, friendly, professional service and excellent fresh homemade food. We have plenty of free parking in our car park with security lighting and 24 hour night porter service. At the Savoy Park you are only minutes walk from the town centre and train station, with frequent links to Glasgow and Prestwick Airport, only a 15 minute drive from the hotel. A short stroll along tree lined avenues brings you to Ayr's seafront, with spectacular views over to Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing