We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome, fantastic breakfasts!”
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #9 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Such a welcome, tea in the garden! Lovely hosts who do their utmost to look after their guests.
Breakfast - brilliant - homemade muffins, smoked salmon, haddock fishcakes and the best sausages ever. A great location for getting to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games - we will surely be back. John, Jill, Rob, Jo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A great four-night stay at the Colia Guest House.
Hazel and Charlie were very welcoming and imparted us with plenty of local knowledge and a discount voucher to the local Robert Burns cottage & museum (also well worth a visit).
The location is excellent, 1 minute walk to the railway station with fast transport links to both Glasgow and local attractions such as Troon. With that said, there is no train noise and the guest is extremely peaceful and comfortable.
Free WiFi as standard, a great range breakfast choice which is all freshly prepared. Room clean, comfortable and spacious.
You couldn't ask for more in a guest house / B&B.
Thank you Hazel and Charlie, we hope to return to the charming Coila Guest House soon!
Paul and Karen

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stay in 2-3 hotels every month mostly a week at a time which can be a problem choosing the one which suits my work location in each particular town.
When I found the Coila Guest House I checked it out on TripAdvisor and thought the reviews were too good to be true but was pleasantly surprised when I checked in to a warm welcome, simple check in and personally shown to my room. I normally have to walk the stairs and corridors of hotels trying to find my room. The room was spacious, immaculately clean with tea, coffee, biscuits, water,and sweets.The breakfasts here are freshly cooked to your order, no one will go out in the morning hungry from here.
I cannot praise this Guest House enough and would like to thank the proprietors Hazel and Charlie for putting in so much effort in looking after all their guests personally.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank you Hazel and Charlie for the comfort of a home on a whirlwind tour with our Choir. Coila is such a nice place to stay. You were very helpful and most accommodating, and I hope to come back with my husband

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Coila Guest House was very comfortable, clean and tidy. It is in a good location - short walk to local restaurants, easy to find and off street parking. The owners were really nice and made us feel very welcome. There was a nice atmosphere in this guest house. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleMcA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On the last leg of our " Golf Trip of a Lifetime ", we followed recomendations from Golf Nook and others, and stayed at the Coia Guest House, while we played Royal Troon and Prestwick. We could not have been more satisfied with our choice ! As soon as we arrived, Charlie was there to greet us, and get us settled in. He was so friendly ( everyone you meet in Scotland is !! WOW ! ), and shared his personal experiances from Royal Troon and Prestwick. That just added to our excitement ! As we ventured out into the town, it became clear how convenient the location is. Easy walking distance to shopping, restaraunts, and pubs ! The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the breakfast we were served in the mornings by Charlie's lovely daughter was terrific ! If I am fortunate enough to return to Ayrshire, I will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Coila is such a nice place...although Hazel was not there, Charlie and his daughter were warm, welcoming, and helpful. Helpful beyond the call of duty, it turned out--we had a medical emergency, and they got us the needed attention very quickly and efficiently. We can't imagine how we would have dealt with this without their assistance. We already had plans for the day based on Charlie's suggestions and were disappointed to spend the day instead at hospital (luckily, things worked out, and at least we had our first day to explore Ayr).

Our room looked out on the lovely back garden and was very cozy and clean. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the homemade muffins.

Coila is very conveniently located...easy, short walking distance from the rail station and shopping.

We highly recommend Coila Guest House and hope we will be able to return to Ayr one day--we would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful...we feel certain they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Ensuite Rooms
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.7 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#7 of 52 in Ayr
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing