We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay in every way.”
Review of Coila Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coila Guest House
Ranked #5 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful place to stay in every way.”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My girlfriend and I were delighted with our stay at Coila. Our charming hosts Hazel & Charlie were very warm and friendly people who seemed to care a lot about us enjoying our stay. They went out of their way to check ferry & bus times for us, as well as cooking a fabulous breakfast each morning. The guest house is located a 2 minute walk from the train & bus station and a 5 minute walk from the centre of Ayr. We spent 2 nights there, then stayed in Culzean Castle and returned for one more night at Coila, both rooms that we stayed in were immaculately clean, bedding was extremely comfortable, it was hard getting up in the mornings. I would recommend this place to anybody.

Chris & Camila (Bournemouth, Dorset).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
114
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Charlie and Hazel are hardworking owners of this very comfortable B&B. My husband and I traveled there with friends who had stayed previously at the Coila Guest House and they did not steer us wrong. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. The house is centrally located and within walking distance to shopping and dinning. There is adequate parking in the front of the house for guests. Charlie and Hazel make their guests feel welcomed and are helpful and ready to accommodate for a pleasant stay in Ayr. The breakfast is second to none and served in their charming dining room. We highly recommend this B&B for a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyKreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I happened across the Coila Guest House approximately 10 years ago and knew I found a gem. Over the last 10 years I have stayed there multiple times traveling over from the states for a golf vacation or just traveling with my wife. Hazel and Charlie make you feel perfectly at home and the facility is very comfortable and well located. They go well beyond their comfortable accomodations and excellent breakfast to help you in whatever endeavors you desire in the area. Most of all, their welcoming nature makes you feel right at home. Several years ago as part of a large group I gave up a room at Coila to another person in my party and stayed at another facility. No comparison. I will never stay any where else in Ayr, and always look forward to this part of my trip to the UK as I am assured of a great comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colosimeaux99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at Coila, Friday 30th-31st Oct 2010 for our Wedding Anniversary this is one of the Cleanest places we have ever stayed, the Breakfast's were delicious our hosts Hazel and Charlie made us feel very special. It is the little touches like Makeup remover pads,Teddy Bears on the bed, Sweets, and Fresh Flowers in each room that make you realise Hazel and Charlie want you to be treated as they would like to be treated if they were having a romantic break themselves. I highly Recomend coila Guest House and my wife and I look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mr & Mrs W. McNee

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamMcNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Hazel and Charlie are wonderful hosts and treat you in a professional yet friendly way. We stayed for 4 nights and always felt very 'at home'.

The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and we too enjoyed the sweeties placed in the room every morning!

I worked my way through the breakfast menu and it was all scrumptious.

Thoroughly recommend it and thank you Hazel and Charlie for making our short stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We picked The Coila because it was very near the railways station but found that it had much more to it than just a convenient location. We were treated very well. Great food, a very comfortable room with everything we could have needed. We loved the sweeties and the biscuits and the grapefruit Arran soap in the bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were happy to help and to get up early and cook our breakfast on the days when we had to make an early start.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITHandDARREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Hazel & Charlie are very good hosts. We thoroughly enjoy our stays with them. It is In the centre of Ayr with all the shops within walking distance. The Railway Station is very close by. It is not too far from the main Ayrshire road so it easy for touring northwards towards Glasgow and beyond.
You would not know you were in the centre of the city because the rooms are so quiet and spacious.
We have always been greeted by Hazel with a lovely cup of tea and cake.
This is our sixth visit, and we shall most definately be back for more.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeadnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coila Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coila Guest House

Property: Coila Guest House
Address: 10 Holmston Road, Ayr KA7 3BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coila Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coila is an impressive Victorian villa, built in 1895, and recently upgraded to provide large en-suite rooms, with king-size beds. We are 4 Star rated by VisitScotland. Breakfasts include salmon, fresh fruit and home-made muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coila Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coila Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing