We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After having a fantastic wedding at the Horizon last year, we decided to go back for our anniversary and we really made the right choice. The food was fantastic, the room was lovely and was the same room we had on our wedding night, but the best thing about this hotel is their friendly, genuine and helpful staff that work there. Look forward to seeing you all again for our second anniversary x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    152
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
81
245
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Went to Ayr for a day out - which turned into more than that and we ended up staying in Ayr. Having had a wonderful day (weather fantastic) we were lucky to find teh Horizon Hotel which sits looking on to the sea.

After booking in we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant - Vista and enjoyed a wonderful meal, which they had no problem adjusting to our requirements. Would go back and stay longer if there again - lovely hotel, really nice people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute holiday for myself and my elderly mother, so needed some specific accommodation. Reception staff were great and advised the best room. On arrival a lovely welcome and made to feel relaxed immediately. Mum had a great time and was able to manage around due to the lift and easy access en suite shower.

Food and service was excellent,

All in all would definitely recommend as a relaxing, comfortable hotel at reasonable cost.

In addition, the atmosphere amongst the staff was one of respect and team working which enhanced the ambience of the hotel.

Well done Horizon

Room Tip: Just ell the staff your needs and they will advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't know we were going to be staying in ayr so booked to hotel only an hr before arriving. We were lucky they had availability and got the last room, which was in the attic. For most people this wouldn't be a problem, but my boyfriend is 6ft 4" so couldn't even stand in the shower, which really should have been positioned in the tallest part of the room.
The room was comfortable enough but could do with a bit of a refurb. The whole place could really have done with a lick of paint and new carpet (the current carpet has a real 'old lady' feel, rather than giving an impression of luxury). Also, some new furniture (e.g. flat screen TV in the room) would make it seem more modern.
Whilst free WiFi was available it didn't really work in our room as we were too far from the router.
Bizarrely, the beds in the room (we had one double and two singles) were not lined up with the headboards. This isn't really important but, again, doesnt give a very luxurious impression.
Breakfast was fine, but the option of a vegetarian sausage/haggis would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent three nights here in July. No, I didn't have a room with a view but my room was clean and well appointed. Bath was typical of properties in UK. Shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. There is a life so if you are "step"challenged you have an alternative route. Restaurant and bar are on site with a nice outdoor patio area adn a sitting area in the lobby. Beach is just a short walk across the parking lot and across the street. Low traffic when we were there. This hotel specializes in weddings apparently and there was one while we were there. No pool or fitness. Get out and walk the beach! Fabulous sunsets! Yes there is sun in Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klasykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just home from a 2night last minute break, could not fault the hotel at all,the staff were efficient but friendly nothing was a bother to them,the meals were lovely tasty and well cooked.rooms were clean and well looked after beds comfortable.the location is excellent as on the seafront but close enough to walk to the town without having to try and park the car.overall would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had an overnight stay after attending friends wedding anniversary celebration. The staff were friendly and efficient and the buffet was first class. The room was large, and comfortably warm with a TV and good shot water in the shower. A filling and tasty breakfast in the morning before we set off for home. There is plenty of car parking spaces adjacent to the hotel. If ever I need to stay in Ayr again I would definitely stay in this hotel. All in all a very nice seaside hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 18 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing