We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Local Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked this lovely hotel for a party. Staff & Managemnt couldn't do enough.The party area was beautiful and spotless, as were the toilets.We stayed there as did friends at another time and would encourage anyone visiting Ayr to give this lovely hotel a visit. Bar meals are terrific with a nice choice on the varied menu.

Room Tip: Visiting Ayr, give this hotel a look, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    152
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
81
245
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Horizon Hotel sits literally yards from the lovely beach in Ayr. The restaurant and bar are on the ground floor with uininterrupted views across the car park to the beach and views of the Island of Arran.
There is a very extensive menu and, for lunch which is what I was there for with a friend, there was a good variety to choose from. We didn't need to wait long and everything was freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The Hotel also has a lovely function suite upstairs, also with the views across the Clyde. It is about 10 minutes walk to the town centre and the shops, and there is a large car and bus park just beside it which is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabitha_mckitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

In Ayr, Prestwick and Troon there is a good choice in the £80-£100 a night bracket, but do not be mistaken, The Horizon does not belong in this company.
Coach tour clientele, long cramped corridors, aging rooms, lightweight timber panel doors and tiny en suites. The Horizon is firmly fixed in the 1970's. I have had many last minute single nights on business around Ayr and would point you towards The Carrick Lodge, The Peirsland and Lochgreen.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just spent an over night over night stay with b and b and looking forward to going back with my 2 dogs as the hotel welcomes them lol.
you can dine in the bar with excellent views out to sea.
staff are so friendly and the chap in the resturaunt makes you very welcome and you can have a 2 course for about 9.95 very cheap if u do not want to venture out you can dine and watch the sun go down out of this world.
hotel is about 5 min in a taxi and will cost about 3.00 pounds if walking about 15min walk.
décor in the reception and resturaunt are very modern but the corridors to the rooms do need a bit of tlc and the bedrooms a wee bit dated but must say the linen was brilllant white and beds comfyand look forward to taking the dogs one weekend,great location the beach just across the road from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After having a fantastic wedding at the Horizon last year, we decided to go back for our anniversary and we really made the right choice. The food was fantastic, the room was lovely and was the same room we had on our wedding night, but the best thing about this hotel is their friendly, genuine and helpful staff that work there. Look forward to seeing you all again for our second anniversary x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Went to Ayr for a day out - which turned into more than that and we ended up staying in Ayr. Having had a wonderful day (weather fantastic) we were lucky to find teh Horizon Hotel which sits looking on to the sea.

After booking in we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant - Vista and enjoyed a wonderful meal, which they had no problem adjusting to our requirements. Would go back and stay longer if there again - lovely hotel, really nice people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute holiday for myself and my elderly mother, so needed some specific accommodation. Reception staff were great and advised the best room. On arrival a lovely welcome and made to feel relaxed immediately. Mum had a great time and was able to manage around due to the lift and easy access en suite shower.

Food and service was excellent,

All in all would definitely recommend as a relaxing, comfortable hotel at reasonable cost.

In addition, the atmosphere amongst the staff was one of respect and team working which enhanced the ambience of the hotel.

Well done Horizon

Room Tip: Just ell the staff your needs and they will advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 18 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing