We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food, great for coeliacs”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Welcoming and professional staff, particularly the young woman serving in the bar. Excellent food, presented with evident pride. I was especially impressed with their gluten free menu. They catered for my dietary needs in a thoughtful and knowledgable way. 10/10.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sammyboy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in February, booked at the very last minute and got a good rate from the hotel. We where given a room to the rear of the hotel, which was large and with a very high ceiling. Room was very clean and had a rather large flat screen TV. Bathroom was very small but was more than adequate. Walk in shower, hand basin and toilet. All the staff where very friendly and helpful. We used the restaurant each evening and the menu was good lots of choice and reasonably priced. Wednesday evening was a steak and bottle of wine for two people £32. Meals where good nicely presented. The Friday was valentines night and the place was very busy. Meal presentation was a little different but still nice. Breakfast was good and again the cooked food was well presented. Wed, Thursday toast and coffee where brought by the waitress. There was a help your self buffet for fruit juice cereals etc. On the Saturday morning almost the same but you had to make your own toast at the buffet area and that lead to queuing. There isn't a lot of car parking spots within the hotel car park and no disabled bays at all. But across the road there is a council run free car park. Watch out for the large pot holes and during the week fills up quickly. If I was ever in need of a hotel in Ayr again I would use the horizon again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank merseybankman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent hotel great location right on the beach 5 mins walk to town centre the food is superb especially the breakfast's my friends and I have stayed here several times on our annual golf trip the staff are great very friendly and can't do enough for you looking forward to returning in June ( written on my boyfriend's behalf)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great hotel with a great location right by the beach,staff very helpful and friendly we booked to have a meal in the resturante in the evening which was very nice and not over priced drinks also good value our room was clean and very warn we went in january so it was cold out side very good base to explore the area,scottish breakfast was very nice also very good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert_j_woolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Out with family for a birthday lunch. Service very good, pleasant and very helpful. Food lovely, well cooked and well presented. Overall a very nice afternoon. Hotel situated across from the shore with a lovely view of the Isle of Arran from the dining area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jcrc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay . Lovely warm welcome at check-in. The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff continued throughout our stay. Food at dinner and breakfast was gorgeous. Would 100% recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kazzakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great hotel right on the beach at Ayr. Ate in restaurant at night is well - good meal and very reasonably priced.Hotel itself good for older people and families, generous breakfast and staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#7 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £51 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing