We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place”
Review of The Basement Coffee House - CLOSED

The Basement Coffee House
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
1 review
“My favourite place”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wonderful staff, a chilled out relaxed vibe and the best food in the town. Fresh made on the premises, a joy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Was very happy to find this amazing place while wandering around Ayr looking for somewhere for lunch. Food was fantastic - I had haloumi salad which was superb. Very friendly staff and great service. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not just a cafe”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I first found out about this cafe thanks to a write up on the Ayrshire post a few months ago, about them winning Best Scottish Small Venue. I kept meaning to go in to check out one of their music nights but never really found the time. Finally made it in on Thursday for their Under the Bridge night and boy was I impressed!!! The atmosphere was electric, the musicians were so talented and the staff were super friendly! It's really no shock they won an award! I especially enjoyed the main act of the night Luther and the host (a larger man with long hair) what a voice!! It's great to see things like this happening in Ayr, it was long due. I bought a ticket for their micro festival "WIRED" for the 21st of September, 27 bands all in one day lol it's going to be a squeeze but i have a feeling it will be one of the best days I've had in a long time!

Also really looking forward to another bowl of those nachos i had on Thursday night. I'm not sure what was in them, they tasted amazing, never have i had nachos like that in my life!

I hope this place keeps the music in this town alive, many have tried and failed, but these guys seem really committed and passionate about it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caross54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Number 1”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

(Beware the address on trip advisor is wrong, trip advisor won't change it, instead try searching for the name of the cafe in google etc. and you'll get an accurate address) BECAUSE IT'S WORTH IT. It's a trendy little place that you get an a amazing feeling like you made a mistake when you are walking down into this little basement and you turn the corner and instantly fall in love with the place. The woman at the visitor centre said there was not much to do in Ayr but she was wrong, you have to go to the Basement House Cafe! The waitress was lovely and really talkative and helpful to a lonely lost traveller, offering lots of great advice and info about Ayr.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic quality without the high price tag!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

One of Ayr's hidden treasures! Fantastic food and really friendly warm staff. Made my partners birthday breakfast a great start to his day. Will definitely be returning. Great value for money too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement Coffee House also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing