We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose between restaurant or in bar/restaurant areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Choose between restaurant or in bar/restaurant areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pleasantly located on the waterfront (where else?) this is a pleasant place with a choice of dining options. To the right is what I'd describe as a formal restaurant. To the left, which is where we chose to go, is more of an informal bar/restaurant area, with light wood, big windows overlooking the river. There's a large TV near the bar but thankfully the sound has been muted on both my visits.

Food was good - the menu was a sort of contemporary European cuisine, decently priced and served on slabs rather than plates, and with cute little jars presented as accompaniments (my fish was accompanied by a wee jar of pickled onions) .

The staff were all pleasant. Service was good.

While we were there a few people came in and just ordered coffees. No problems at all.

I'd put this in my top three of informal but nice places to go and eat in Ayr.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squarebear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    152
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jazz and a meal. Excellent combination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having visited The Waterfront several times recently, we decided to book for the jazz afternoon on Sunday 25 May. We were not disappointed. Excellent food, service, friendly staff, entertainment and atmosphere! Booked for next one on 22 June before we left, although I'm sure we'll drop in before then! So glad we found The Waterfront.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A perfect surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Have thought about visiting this restaurant many times before but was always put off and went somewhere else. Perhaps it's the location, near to the town centre but at the scruffier end of town or maybe it's the online menu which somehow doesn't manage to convey the value and quality of food on offer. Went on a Friday night without booking and was surprised from the moment we walked in. The place is more spacious than you would think and the interior decor exceeded expectations. We were seated in the bar area overlooking the river. The service was courteous but lacking a bit of character, however before long we were offered a fantastic deal two steaks and a bottle of wine for £30! The steaks were cooked beautifully and sides and sauce delicious. Overall a lovely lovely meal which will definitely demand another visit soon. I would recommend this place for so many reasons , the food, the views and the optional outdoor patio overlooking the river. Please please staff just engage a little more, you are doing a good job and a wee smile won't cost anything! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and myself visited here at the start of May .we were in the bar as the restaurant was full.very good service from the staff .lovely views on to the river with a outside terrace.food was excellent my husband got the fish and pasts i hot the ribeye steak which was cooked perfect .would recommend the waterfront for excellent food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missliz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lunch with my daughter and grandchildren. Excellent value for all of us, good menus and lovely service. The portions are very generous even for the childrens menu. Colouring crayons and pictures to keep them occupied. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HillyAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Dundonald, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing