We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking little pub”
Review of The Newton Arms - CLOSED

The Newton Arms
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our traditional, Scottish, Pub was built in the late 1800s and has been operated as The Newton Arms since then. In 2012 we undertook an extensive refurbishment- keeping the original bar but bringing a modern, relaxed and stylish environment to the old pub. We have modernised the exterior too with a return to the original black flags and white wash and a superb beer-garden out back with tables and a relaxed space for when the sun shines!Join us for a fantastic craft beer or ale or a delicious glass of wine and enjoy our library area for an intimate evening with friends. Dine at any table in the pub and try something tasty from our new menu with some amazingly creative and delicious options: from awesome chicken wings to slow-cooked pulled-pork or the famous Newton Burger, we have something for everyone. And if it's a first-class, authentic pizza you crave, we have our home-made range of gourmet pizzas all week (and 2 for £10 Wed - Fri). Try something different and enjoy The Newton Arms. Our kitchen is open Wednesday to Sunday 11.30Am to 8pm
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cracking little pub”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Popped in whilst in Ayr for a spot of lunch. Had a pint of Moretti and one of their Pizza's. The pizza was delicious and the beer ice cold ideal on a red hot day. Service was great and very welcoming. Will definitely return. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDale1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for that! We certainly will keep up the good work!

Glad you liked our pizzas. They're a new addition to our menu so it's really helpful to receive feedback from our customers. We're really proud of our pizzas - freshly prepared and stoned baked in the oven. The toppings are just amazing too! Our Head Chef Liam really likes to get creative with his sometimes weird but always wonderful combinations.

See you next time! Remember to tell your friends and family to pay us a visit too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    13
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairlie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good lunch”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

had occasion to visit ayr today to get our car repaired at bennets green street(a very good company)we started to walk into ayr,but spotted a parked taxi,phoned the number but it was a taxi repair business j.p.taxi repairs,the chap nevertheless got a taxi for us and asked where we were going,i told him we would like a nice lunch,to which he said we would enjoy the newton arms.
well he was bang on,very pleasant lunch,served well, and very good quality,our server a very pleasant irish gentleman,i would think the owner,had good customer skills and pleasant disposition,very good value,will most certainly return.
david and Margaret from fairlie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KELBURN54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for the kind review David and Margaret. It's great to hear we're being recommended as an enjoyable place to eat. Glad we didn't disappoint and lived up to expectations. Our aim is to make a lasting impression so people come back time and time again and tell their friends and family about us too.

Our Patrick is certainly a great asset to the pub - always making everyone feel welcome and going the extra mile to ensure every visit is enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
“Great wee pub”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Decided to go to Ayr for the day and ended up in the newton arms for a bite to eat. There was a great atmosphere with the World Cup football being. The food itself was brilliant and the service was brilliant. The young guy on the bar made ya feel very welcome and made the experience excellent for us. I had the jambalaya which was to die for would definitely recommend it and my partner had the pulled pork which she thoroughly enjoyed aswell! We Will defnately be back and would recommend it to anyone wanting great food, service and atmosphere. Thanks again and see you soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for your great review- we really appreciate hearing from our customers and it is especially nice when the review is so positive about everything we are trying to achieve. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, bad barmaid”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I visited here last week with 2 friends for a drink and a bite to eat after it being recommended by my sister. The food (I had the pizza) was lovely and the pub itself has undergone a massive change. It's definately a lovely wee pub now. Unfortunately our visit was let down by the rude barmaid. She barely looked at us let alone smiled or made us feel welcome. That could be because we interrupted her outside having a smoke (the smell clinged to her) So we rushed our meal and left. But that aside, it's a great pub. I'll be back but will check the staff first!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanYoung2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We' re always grateful to hear feedback from our customers so we can find out what we're doing well and maybe not so well so we know where we need to improve.

We're delighted you enjoyed the pizza - a newcomer to our menu that we've worked hard to perfect.

We're really sorry though that on this occasion we failed to meet our own high standards regarding the quality of customer service. We'll certainly have a word with the staff as it's important that our high standards are consistently maintained.

Don't let this put you off returning to The Newton Arms! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant little place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Been here twice now and both times the food has been brilliant and the staff very friendly,the gentleman running the bar even asked my daughter if she would like to borrow an iPad while she was waiting on her lunch,would recommend to everyone to try at least once,it's also really good value for money

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steevroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewtonTeam, Director of Sales at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are delighted that you have become something of a regular and thank you very much for taking time to review The Newton Arms. We hope that you will be able to join us again soon. Find us on Facebook and Twitter and keep us posted on what you liked from our menu. Hope the summer is going to be full of fun and sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Newton Arms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing