We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Berkley Hotel Ayr - CLOSED

Berkley Hotel Ayr
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Aurora Boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Champagne Bar is Ayrs only boutique hotel,offering a champagne bar with a variety of champagnes available by the glass. Recently taken over, and previously trading as the Berkeley, Aurora is a stylish , sumptuous venue offering everything one would want from a stylish individual boutique hotel. A sophisticated menu is offered with dishes from as far afield as Thailand that sits alongside all your favourites. Let Aurora awaken your senses,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a lovely 1 night stay here with my husband, can't believe this hotel gets negative feedback, we got our choice of bedroom, Food was Absolutely amazing & plenty of it, Staff were great, chefs brought our Breakfast out to us, Great Service from all, can't wait to go back , Thanks to the Two Johns u have a Fab hotel May & Osvaldo Mancini

Helpful?
Thank Marydoll47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The décor is different. To some it may be a bit overpowering but it is a matter of taste. It didn't bother me.
The food is excellent with generous portions.
The staff were very nice and were trying their best. However, it did take one of the waiters a few goes to get the drink orders right. Perhaps it was his first day there.
It is quite well located for anyone staying there and is within easy reach of the town. I noticed they do a lunch menu for £8.95, which is very good indeed considering the standard of the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ayr - your very lucky ! ..”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in to this Boutique hotel and restaurant for a quick drink as it looked intriguing from the outside, over two and a half hours later we were still there ! Our group ( four adults and two kids ) really loved the food and drinks on offer, £12.95 for three courses - a staggeringly good deal for this quality of food.The interior is beautiful as well and immaculately clean. The gentleman who served us ( sorry we didn't catch your name ) was also fantastic, talking us through his menu and helping us with some difficult choices!!
To be honest as a group we are pretty picky about food and restaurants, and regular browsers and reviewers on Trip Advisor, we think this really was a fantastic place and all involved should be proud of it ... Looking forward to return.

Helpful?
Thank newmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden luxurious gem of a hotel and restaurant in Ayr - HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Berkley Hotel in Ayr is a one stop shop if your looking for something special whether it be out for drinks, dinner or luxury accommodation - or better yet all three together! In my opinion the Berkely hotel and it's Aubergine restaurant and bar strike the right balance between cost and luxury.

My wife and I stayed here one night and its one of the best nights away we've had. As a hotel it has loads of character, tasteful decoration all the way through and nothing overlooked in terms of detail. The room was spectacular and decorated to a high standard. The bed was comfortable with thick quilts and pillows.

We had dinner in the Aubergine restaurant and the menu has a good range of choices with all being homemade, stretching from good old favourites to some unique recipes. One of the owners John is also the head chef and earned his stripes at De Vere's Cameron House Hotel (De Vere's flagship resort at Loch Lomond were quality is of the highest standard) over a period of 10 years; and this 5 star quality flows into the Aubergine's menu; all I can say is clean plates all round. From talking with the staff, you begin to understand the ingredients, care and detail put into the food; I could not fault the food in any way. Breakfast was also included within the room rate and it was good to have a flexible time in which to have it - no need to be an early riser! Again the food was fresh and cooked to perfection - so many hotels get breakfast wrong, but not this one. The coffee was also amazing, none of the instant stuff, fresh grinned pellini beans and steaming hot milk. Seriously, so many hotels get this wrong too but not at the Berkely! If your local to Ayr and didn't know about this place, I'd seriously consider the restaurant for dinner, you won't be disappointed.

I can highly recommend this hotel and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemcl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very underated hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

not reviewed for a while.have been back twice to this hotel since my last review just love it there.rooms are spotless.the food is out of this world .cocktail bar fantastic.if this dosent tell you anything going back in december for another 2 night stay.me and the wife just love to chill in the bar after fantastic meal.you could not fallout the guys the 2 johns.i treat them as friends now.they are so nice.there is a lovely lady there also megan great to talk to.finally all the staff are great. SO DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BOOK THIS HOTEL..p.s john keep the peroni chilled.see you in december/

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berkley Hotel Ayr also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing