We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Absolutely Excellent!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
58 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LisaMc90
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked this house for a family get-away for my husbands 50th Birthday. There was 13 of us in total including children.

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely owner Margaret who warmly welcomed us to her fabulous home.

I have rated this property a 5* and it most certainly is!! The bedrooms are all large and simply amazing! We stayed for 3 nights and ate in every night, the kitchen is huge and there was more than enough plates, glasses etc for everyone.

We would highly recommend this property to others and hope to return in the future.

The personal touches of the owner for our celebrations were much appreciated also.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjaaGlasg...
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic House and Host!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The White House for a long weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday. The host Margaret went above and beyond all expectations, she supplied us with a breakfast pack, had a cake made for me and gave me a birthday gift. The house itself is stunning and the photos do not do it justice. We arrived on the Friday evening and were met by Margaret, who gave us a tour of the house which was all lit up, warm and cosy. She left us her number so if we needed anything we were just to phone her, not many owners do that. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated, there was bathrobes in each room and a hairdryer! The views outside were absolutely gorgeous and the Hollybush Inn was 5-10 minutes walk away, what more could you want? I certainly would book this house again and will recommend it to family and friends.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for a relaxing holiday away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I have just returned after celebrating my friends 50th birthday with another 10 ladies from this beautiful house. We were welcomed by Margaret the owner of the house and could not believe the bother that she had went too to make us so welcome ,including freshly made strawberry Pavlova which went down a treat (can you send the recipe Margaret ?) also the well stocked fridge, freezer and cupboards.This house was ideal for a large amount of adults as it had so much space indoors and outdoors. We visited the Hollybush Inn pub/restaurant which was a short walk away which served lovely food and the staff were very pleasant. We would also like to thank Derek for his help over the weekend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: great that we could all be together ,but still had space to have our own privacy too.
Liked least: there was nothing that dissapointed me.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
654EmmaM
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, fabulous host and house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our family, 13 of us, stayed at the White House for new year and it exceeded all our expectations! The house definitely has the wow factor , even more so with all the Christmas decorations, and the furnishings in all rooms are beautiful. What sets this apart from other accomodation is the host, Margaret, a hostess unparalleled in our experience! She provided strawberry Pavlovas from Troon! A full breakfast of sausages, Lorne sausage, bacon, black pudding, eggs ( yes for all 13!) and the cupboard was very well stocked with tea, coffees sauces etc. There was wine and juice in the fridge, chocolates in all the bedrooms, presents for the 4 children under the tree! On Hogmanay Margaret popped over with wine, whiskey and a piece of coal! We went for walks by the river doon and also went to the hollybush inn for a lovely meal. You are in the centre of Ayr in less than 10 mins driving, it is ideal. I cannot recommend the house highly enough and if you are looking to book, do it, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, Fantastic Host, infact it was just Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We came to stay at the White House over Christmas upon arrival we were greeted with the sight of a beautifully decorated what we are now calling the "Christmas House" there was a stunning tree, decorations in every room, bathrooms had reindeer towels, kitchen likewise with christmas themed dish towels. In my opinion the attention to detail far surpassed the best 5 star hotel.

Margaret let us settle in then came round with a High Tea for us consisting of sandwiches, snacks and cakes. She had also stocked the fridge full of breakfast foods from the local farm shop none of which we were expecting.

On Christmas evening Margaret again surprised us and came calling dressed as Santa complete with her big red sack and gave each of us (yes all 13) a christmas present.

Now for the house OMG it is stunning the online photos do not do it justice at all. Margaret has collected items and furnishings from all over the world and put them together in a way that just screams class. The rooms are also much bigger than the photos would suggest too.

All in all if you want a special treat away the White House is the place to go and I challenge anyone to try to find a better host that Margaret was.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodaion 5 * in our opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and four friends stayed at the Whitehouse for the weekend. We arrived later in the afternoon on the Friday and the house was all lit up and looked so cosy and inviting. Inside the house was so warm and fully decorated for Christmas, with a beautiful tree and decorations in almost every room. We were given the warmest of welcome from Margaret the owner of the property and she could not do enough to make sure our stay was memorable. The House was gorgeous and with four en-suite bedrooms, and another two bedrooms and a family bathroom, we all had our own space to relax. There was a bottle of our favourite bubbly in the kitchen ready for us. The kitchen is well stocked with beautiful table linen and crockery. and we had two nights with the table set like a top restaurant. The bedding was so comfortable with spotless linen. All the rooms had little baskets of chocolates. We went to the Hollybush Restaurant (which is almost round the corner) for a meal on the Sunday evening and it was very good quality food. We definitely intent to return at some time as it was the best accommodation we have stayed in. The thing that we liked the best was that Margaret was at the end of a telephone and, had we needed her for anything she was a stone`s throw away. We honestly felt we had made a new friend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you again Margaret
The B & T Club xx

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house was amazing and the service first class
Liked least: no negative comments at all everything was fab.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xoxnickyx...
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house and exceptional hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful weekend at the White House. My group was let down at the last minute from another cottage and we were lucky enough for Margaret and Alina to take all ten of us in for the weekend. These two ladies saved our weekend and I cannot thank them enough. Their hospitality was exceptional.

The house its self is out of this world. The pictures do not do it justice. Every room was much bigger than we expected and well equipped with everything you may need. From the snug library to the massive bedrooms, there is something for everyone in this house. Most of the bedrooms having en-suites was great for our large party and everyone spoke about how well they slept in their rooms. This house had a extremely high standard of cleanliness throughout and our hosts even stock our fridge with breakfast food for our arrival.

I cannot wait to return to The White House and my group are already planning our next trip.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything this house had to offer.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing