We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here recently on DBB basis as a wee treat from my husband. The hotel was lovely, so warm and welcoming, staff were very pleasant too. We stayed in a courtyard room which was perfect all mod cons, the most comfortable queen size bed and little luxuries like sweets, robes/slippers, shortbread etc. dinner was amazing! I expected there to be supplements on top of what we'd paid but no, it was any 3 courses from the a la carte menu, we were also offered the festive menu. There was a party might on but we weren't disturbed, hubby took advantage of the mulled wine on offer. All the food was excellent, breakfast included! Such a lovely place with beautiful grounds. Cannot say anything bad about it, well done western house, hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positively glowing report about your stay with us here at Western House Hotel it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments. We look forward to your return stay with us and "thank you" again for such a positive report.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my husband stayed here unexpectedly for a anniversary recently & really really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were gorgeous. They had everything you could ever imagine and the most AMAZING and comfortable beds. Queen sized and full of pillows, with extra in the massive mirrored wardrobes, one of the best nights sleeps I've had in my life. the TV was large and the drinks section was fantastic, hot chocolates, choices of coffee, lots of teas and cream and milk. no mini-bar however. Bathroom was presented lovely, with lots of lovely bottles of shampoo, body lotion... etc. There were robes and slippers provided, some gorgeous biscuits and sweets. There was a huge dresser/desk with stationary, menus, an Ayrshire booklet & a Free DVD rentals sheet. A drinks table with two tub chairs and lots of different drinks glasses. the rooms, corridors and reception and grounds were kept immaculate. The car park was huge, and everything was very well organised. A really beautiful hotel and we will definitely be staying here again when we are in the area to visit family.

Room Tip: we stayed in the newer buildings, the room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and i hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We recently attended a lovely wedding held at the Western House. We arrived very weary after a long journey from Devon to a cheery welcome and a lovely spacious room. On the morning of the wedding there was an army of groundsmen outside working hard to ensure the wedding party arrived to clear and immaculate outside areas. We had a lovely breakfast to set us up for the day. For the wedding the ballroom was decorated beautifully. What can I say about the wedding meal? It, was exceptional and amazing quality. A slick turnaround for the disco after. The hotel even had a room, just off the ballroom, allocated for the younger children to round around in with entertainment and activities laid on. A great venue for a wedding, upmarket but not with a stuffy touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colbigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very complimentary comments regarding the hotel and service here at Western House Hotel. It is always great to hear that the standards that we put in place are being followed through consistently. Thank you again.

Kind regards
Malcolm Balish
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very friendly welcome. Clean and comfortable and very good value for money. Good car parking facilities. The dining room was excellent and food interesting and very well presented. Easy walk into town and to the parks of Ayr. Stayed at a time when there was no Horse racing event and would expect might be rather busy if an event was taking place.
Stayed here for one night as had early Prestwick airport flight and it certainly was only a 10 mins. drive from the airport. I believe that there are also special deals for parking etc. although we did not use this.
I would stay here again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your great stay here at Western House hotel, I am glad you found us to be conveniently close to Prestwick Airport and our standards and service exceeded your expectations, I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have had lunch and dinner often at this venue before and certainly found it very good for service and food quality along with very comfortable surroundings, but had not attended a wedding before until recently. We found the organisation of the whole wedding experience excellent and had an opportunity to view the grounds at a closer range. The hotel also owns Ayr Racecourse and is adjacent to their grounds which gives the site a bit of extra interest. The wedding meal was exceptional and so was the slick, seamless fashion the dinning room was converted into a large dance-floor which had a magnificent view of the track and grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest . Thank you for your positive comments regarding service and quality of food here at Western House
Kind regards
Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We used this as a staging post for flights out from and back into Prestwick Airport. Located on the edge of Ayr Racecourse, the Courtyard rooms are well presented, spacious and spotlessly clean, with dressing gowns, slippers and complimentary home made shortbread - all for a price not much more than a Premier Inn. Previously we have stayed at the Hotel on Royal Troon Golf Course - but this was a better experience and a fraction of the cost. The two AA rosette Restaurant serves excellent tasting and well presented meals and breakfasts. Really can't find a negative comment. So impressed on our outward journey to Crete, we booked to stop-over on our return. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kospegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope we have the pleasure of you returning again soon.

Kind Regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here on business recently and loved the hotel. We stayed in the building across the way and the rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Attention to detail is what makes the hotel stand out.
The food was amazing and the service first class.
I would definately go back, but hopefully for the races next time.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the reviews about the rooms outwith the main building, my room was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Western House Hotel and pointing out to our potential guests that our Courtyard Rooms are to the highest of standards and quality. I am very pleased to read you found our food and staff of the highest standards too. Please do not hesitate to book and join us for one of our race meetings where you can soak up the racing atmosphere.


Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Western House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
915 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
4.6 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £45 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing