We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“daughters wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just had our daughters wedding there , what a great day it was ,firstly the staff were amazing ,the wedding coordinator LAURA was amazing , my wife and regularly go on weekends to other hotels and this one is right at the top , the rooms were spacious and spotless,
only one downside and seriously only one , £165 for room only no breakfast included and we were the wedding party and no discount when you see there was 140 people in the hotel , how much money would they have took through the bar , again this is the only gripe , I would highly recommend this hotel as I mentioned at the start all the levels off staff were great , if it had a pool it would be 5 star

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 269andymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your daughters wedding here at Western House Hotel. I have passed your comments on to Laura and she is happy you found her service and standards to your satisfaction.

I hope the room rate situation will not put you off from staying with us in the future please keep a eye on our website where we run many fantastic offers for stays with us here at Western House Hotel.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

It was a pleasure to stay dbb on valentines day at the hotel, main house. Quality of staff, food and accommodation all superb. We have stayed here over the years and have found we can depend on it delivering high standards.

Room Tip: Executive rooms main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0rdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding your stay over valentines and as a team we are grateful for your comments regarding our consistent service.
We look forward to you staying again.

kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed here for 1 night after working nearby, must say its 1 of the best hotels ive stayed in , if not the best , staff couldnt do enough for you, didnt book in till 11 pm so food was finished for the night , but asked at reception if it was ok to order a takeawy, not only did they say it was ok , they even ordered it for us, well done to all the staff and thanks for a great stay , even though it was a brief stay i would highly recommend it to anyone who,s thinking of a stay in ayr

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your for your review regarding your stay . It is always pleasing to read such positive reviews, I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us in the near future.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

2couples stayed overnight in the hotel rooms really clean and spacious . Staff friendly and helpful
We had dinner in the Jockey Room It was great presented really well and service great .
Breakfast was fantastic service great again
No complaints what so ever
Would stay again
If going to the Ayr racecourse that's the place to stay look out the window in the jockey room and the course is there

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your response and very good comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Western House Hotel . I am pleased to read you found all our facilities to be of good value and our staff and service excellent.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have just had our daughters wedding in this hotel and I cannot praise it enough. The venue, rooms, food and warmth is 2nd to none. The staff are just amazing And nothing is too much trouble for them, they are helpful polite warm and friendly. MaryJane the wedding co ordinater is the most helpful and efficient staff member I had the pleasure In dealing with and nothing was too much trouble. She never gets phased and deals with everything calmly and quickly with a big beaming smile. So if your looking for a wedding venue or even somewhere to hid for a couple of days I can't recommend it highly enough. I will definately be back. Thank you to the entire team for making my daughters day go flawlessly and making the day even more magical. Much love Loraine Henderson x

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Loraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mrs Henderson

Thank you so much for your very kind review regarding your daughters wedding here at Western House Hotel. It is always really good to read how positive the day was and the staff looked after you perfectly.

I have passed all your comments onto the staff and Mary Jane , thank you again for submitting your review.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here on DBB basis. Was given as a gift. We were offered a half price upgrade costing £20, well worth it. Room was superb. Staff were all excellent, attentive and helpful even when extremely busy as a wedding was on. Food in restaurant was lovely. Would definitely recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest , Thank you for your very positive review regarding your stay with us here at Western House Hotel. We look forward to looking after you on your next stay.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in the Western House hotel when attending local race meeting. I can only say that the compliments showered on the staff at this hotel were very much warranted. Service was friendly and efficient and nothing seemed too much trouble to the young people employed. Rooms, dinner and breakfast for the price paid represented excellent value. I know where I will stay next time I visit Ayr.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGM1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest , Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Western House Hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £52 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing