We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just keep coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford cheshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Another great trip to Ayr staying once again at the Western House Hotel.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay in March and we will be coming back next year again. Food perfect, staff perfect, room perfect.

This really is one of our favourite hotels.

Thanks for having us again, see you next year.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you again for your review! Keep coming back and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    167
    48
    22
    14
See reviews for
151
356
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

just back from an overnight stay with our grandaughter having taken advantage of dinner bed an breakfast offer in courtyard room.
room was spotless with everything we needed catered for.
the food was exceptional in the restaurant with no restriction on choice unlike other offers normally given in hotels.
all staff were extremely attentative and friendly.
this was a wee gem to find and certainly one we will be back to visit.
thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian2bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay . I hope it is not too long before you return to stay with us again.

kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were at the hotel over 3 nights for a family wedding.
Brilliant venue.
We stayed in the main hotel with our room overlooking the racecourse. The room was spotlessly clean, bright & very comfortable. Bathroom of the same calibre but with the one exception that when the shower was in use there was no kind of containment (curtain or screen) to keep the water confined!
Fantastic wedding (arranged in house)
Wonderful food, We ate in the hotels Jockey Club restaurant on two nights. The food was first rate in quality, quantity and price, heaven knows how they do it. Breakfasts were at the same level.
Great staff in all areas of the hotel, from housekeeping, bar, restaurant & reception, all of those we encountered could not have been more pleasant or helpful. They all seemed genuinely happy, a very rare thing these days!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpelder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
It is always very rewarding to hear that our staff and service are well received.
At Western House Hotel we do take a great pride in our staff and service and I thank you for your very kind words.

kind regards
Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We needed to make an urgent booking for a one night stay on the same morning, so no "offer" opportunities. We also had our dog with us. A number of local hotels were not able to accommodate us. However Western House was available at £110 B&B plus £15 for our small dog in a Courtyard room. The room was large comfortable and spotless. Good shower and all the amenities you would expect. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had an excellent meal for a reasonable cost. Breakfast was plentiful and of high quality. There was a large wedding in full swing whilst we were staying, however, the noise was well contained and the hotel was obviously able to cope well with large numbers as our dinner was promptly served by dedicated staff. We would like to commend all the staff we met who were courteous, helpful and very accommodating. A real pleasure to find somewhere with outstanding customer service. We will use again and will be recommending to friends.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are spacious, only a short walk from the main building and have the advantage of bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind review I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to your liking, I hope we have the pleasure of you returning soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from the Western House after a two day break in Ayr having taken advantage of their offer of dinner, bed and breakfast in a courtyard room for £110 per room per night.
The welcome we received on arrival was genuine and efficient and the room in the courtyard spotlessly clean with every need catered for. Then there was the food! words cannot describe the fabulous quality on offer, amazingly the price covered a three course meal for two with no restrictions on choice unlike other hotels where the menu is limited by price.
Staff everywhere in the hotel were friendly and helpful, if there is a better value for money break currently on offer anywhere we would be surprised.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coverdalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your very kind review I am glad you found the our standards and service to be of the highest standards.
We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed just for a night on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The external appearance of the courtyard rooms is a bit disappointing compared to the facade of the main hotel. I was prepared for this after reading previous reviews. ...but have faith! The room itself is really lovely. Big huge comfy bed, spotlessly clean and a really lovely bathroom.

After a quick drink in the warm and cozy bar we had what was probably the best meal we have eaten in a hotel or restaurant. Unlike other hotels we have stayed in there are no restrictions or supplements on food choice from the full menu. All three courses for both my husband and myself were outstanding. Good quality ingredients and very well presented.

The breakfast next morning following an excellent nights sleep was equally delicious.

The staff we came across were also excellent.

Will definitely recommend and will look forward to returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelling-gal-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding you stay with us here at western House Hotel,

I am glad you found the courtyard rooms to be of the highest four star standard and everything to your liking.
Thank you for your review about the food and service and about how good it was , this is very pleasing and we hope we have the pleasure of your return visit.

kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Small party were very well attended by very courteous staff from reception to leaving.
Food was of high quality for afternoon tea. Great selection of sandwiches,deep fried fish, chicken and prawns with tartare sauce. Both savoury tartlets and cream and fruit as cakes.
We will return to this well run Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and review , we look forward to your return.
Thank you again

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing