We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here for a family wedding and the rooms are beautiful with great attention to detail. The staff are exceptional and very attentive. Food for the wedding banquet was delicious as was the buffet breakfast, one point to make though is that i would have expected tea or coffee to be served at the tables in tea pots by the staff. The restaurant manager should really consider using labelled thermos as on both mornings our tea was tainted by a coffee taste as the staff had obviously used the flasks for both. This was a disappointment as i am sure everyone will agree we all like a good cup of tea or coffee in the morning. Just a minor point but if this is reviewed then I would of happily given an excellent review rather than very good.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive review.
Indeed we should have labeled thermos flasks for the tea and coffee so that we cannot get the tea and coffee mixed up. We use the thermos flasks on the mornings where the tables are used as group tables so that tea and coffee is refilled as often as required rather than having several tea and coffee pots on the table at any one time. In the restaurant on tables of two and four etc we use individual tea pots and cafetieres.
Thank you for your positive remarks about the staff and service.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding here, everything from start until finish was perfect.the function rooms, the decor, the food was delicious. Rooms are a nice size and gives a relaxing atmosphere. Staff were helpful and assisted with any queries

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyascan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review regarding Western House Hotel. We are delighted you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to your return visit here !

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My sons wedding was held here on sat 18th April and I can honestly say everything was absolute perfection. The rooms both in courtyard and main hotel are to a very high standard with lovely touches throughout from toiletries to bath robes etc. Huge comfortable beds too. The staff were all fantastic, friendly & well trained and the food was delicious from the wedding banquet to the breakfast next morning. They all made my son & daughter in laws wedding the most perfect day ever. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank weecooperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your simply fantastic review regarding your sons wedding here at Western House Hotel . We are delighted you found the standards to be excellent and we are delighted you found the staff to be excellent.
Thank you again and I hope you vote for us on the VOWS awards web site !

Thank you again

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not long home from Ayr, we attended the wife's cousins wedding at western house, stayed in room 214 (courtyard room) the food at the wedding was perfect, hot, tasty, the house wine they served was fantastic, not like the vinegar you get in some places,
The room was lovely, only downside was no in room fridge,
The staff at the function were all really good but, I feel a special mention has to go to Alison who, not only made sure our glasses were filled & served us with speed at the bar but went above & beyond the call of duty to get us what we wanted, when the bar didn't have a particular item off she popped to get it for us,
An absolute star!

Defo will return one day, thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brydo_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us here at Western House Hotel. It is always nice to read that a particular member of staff has ensured your stay was outstanding, Alison as you rightly say is indeed a star and nothing is ever a bother to her .

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here earlier this week for one night and I can honestly say it was perfect! The room was spotless, the staff were friendly and attentive and the food was out of this world. We will definately be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind comments about your "perfect" stay with us here at Western House Hotel , we look forward to your return visit , thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Courtyard room for one evening . The room was large, clean and had everything you could need. All the extra toiletries, bath robe, slippers was more like 5 Star.
Hotel. We ordered food through room service, were advised by phone that it was on its way. Brought my an efficient and polite young man, the food was superb!! Could not rate the hotel more highly, in fact we have booked to go back in May this time for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tait57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind response and kind comments regarding your stay here at Western House Hotel.
We look forward to your return visit in May.

Kind regards

Malcolm Blaish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed with my husband for one night, 8.4.14. Lovely room, well equipped. Excellent staff who are trained to a very high standard. Lovely food - more like a five star hotel. We had taken advantage of a special spring offer and had a courtyard room which was large, with huge, very comfortable bed. Toiletries very generous. All staff were very good, from the lovely young lady on reception to the efficient and courteous bar staff (house red wine was excellent, served at a perfect temperature and competitively priced) to the highly trained restaurant staff. Everywhere was spotlessly clean with great attention to detail. Would highly recommend the hotel and we'll stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Be aware that courtyard rooms are in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very detailed and positive review which highlights the staff training which we are extremely proud of. I am glad to read that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
747 reviews
4.8 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing