We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love the Western House Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love, love the Western House Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently for 2 nights to attend a wedding the hotel were also hosting. From the minute we checked in to the minute we left we were looked after fully and left very happy! Julia was on reception when we arrived and made our first impression of the hotel very good which only got better during our stay.

We dined in The Jockey restaurant on our first night in the hotel, we chose to have a drink in the bar first though where Grant made us feel very welcome and looked after. The food was amazing, great value for money and presented beautifully. Our waiter William was very attentive and made our dining experience 5* and more.

All the staff made the wedding for us as guests a very enjoyable experience and the hotel certainly seems like a beautiful venue for a wedding and I would highly recommend people to consider it as a venue!

The hotel is very fairly priced considering all the little things they include and do for guests during their stay and I will certainly be returning and recommending to all my friends and family!

Once again thank you to all staff for making our short stay very relaxing, enjoyable and a good break from everyday life.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jss0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review it is always heartening to read that our staff are leading the way with hospitality and giving such a good impression of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to the staff and thank you again for your review.
We look forward to your return visit!
Please vote for us on the VOWS awards website!

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    169
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
156
362
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Brilliant hotel, nothing is to much trouble, check in was easy and the rooms were fantastic. Stayed in the main hotel rooms, which are of an excellent size and very well equipped. Our room had everything we needed and more. Would have no trouble recommending a stay here.. especially if combined with a day at the races as ours was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay here at Western House Hotel. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to your return visit

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Rarely have I gone to a hotel and had nothing to complain about. The cleanliness was fantastic, the range of services available amazing and the staff are attentive and kind.

From checking in to leaving, no request was too much. We dinned within the hotel also and the food was next to none.

I would just like to thank, William, Grant and Julia for going that extra mile and making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review western House Hotel. I am glad you found everything to your liking and found the staff to be exceptional. Thank you again and i have passed on your thanks to the team.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What can we say about the Western House Hotel that hasn't already been said? There was absolutely nothing about this hotel that we didn't like. From arrival to departure every member of staff we came across gave good old fashioned, courteous service. Have to admit that we thought maybe we would be treated like 'second class' guests as we were staying in the courtyard rooms (separate from the main hotel) but how wrong we were. The rooms were exceptional....and I really mean EXCEPTIONAL! The bed was massive and my husband joked that he would text me when the alarm went off in the morning incase I didn't hear it from my side of the bed. Food was brilliant. We had dinner in the restaurant and I can't tell you just how much we enjoyed it. There was quite a bit of mmmmming coming from our table! If I had one complaint to make it would be that the porridge was too thick for me but then I am a 'sassenach' and thick porridge is wasted on me lol!

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and by the looks of it are maintained daily as there were a lot of ground/maintenance staff about working discreetly. Our room overlooked the car park but can honestly say we were not disturbed by any noise or traffic.

We will be re-visiting the Western House Hotel in the future and may even treat ourselves to a room in the main hotel. Thank you to everyone for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: No tip needed as I'm sure all rooms are of equal high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you indeed for such a exceptional review, it is a review that as a team we strive to achieve and I have printed it off for our staff to read.
We believe very strongly in "old time values" guest service is our priority and we are very fortunate to have such a good welcoming staff that enjoy working here and are proud of what we have.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would like to thank all of the staff at Western House for making my sliver wedding party on the 9th May just the best. From the moment all our guests arrived with service was first class. The food was exceptional as always and everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your Silver Wedding here at Western House Hotel it is very much appreciated and I have passed your comments on to all the staff.
We hope to see you back here again soon!

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and I won't stay anywhere else when I revisit. Staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were nice sized and very clean. The restaurant staff was attentive to my every need. Dinner service and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review regarding your stay here at Western House Hotel I am glad you found every aspect of your stay to be excellent.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards



Malcolm Balish
general Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here after the horse racing on Sunday and it was excellent. The staff were all very friendly. The two receptionists were very friendly, the bar staff and restaurant staff were all very friendly also. The room was lovely with nice touches such as shortbread, hot chocolate and sweets. The room was a good size and well equipped with little extras such as nail file, sewing kit etc and robes and slippers were included in the price whereas other hotels only supply these when you upgrade. I particularly liked the added touches such as hot water bottle and shoe cleaning stuff. We had dinner in the Jockeys Restaurant and it was very nice. I would definitely recommend the Western House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind remarks regarding your stay here at Western House Hotel. I am glad you found all the added extras in your room to your liking and you found all our staff to be very friendly indeed.

kind regards



Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing