We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Ayr Racecourse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great stay at Ayr Racecourse”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is wonderful, lovely garden views, great staff who work well together to create a very relaxed atmosphere.

All the rooms are modern and decorated to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend the Jockey Club restaurant. The evening dining was a gastronomical delight. Food was well presented, and cooked to perfection. Breakfast is also outstanding. Hazel our waitress was lovely and couldn't do enough.

Marina the Housekeeping manager was very friendly, informative about the hotel and made us feel special. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Parky1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and highlighting some members of our team here at Western House Hotel . I have passed on your comments and hope you return to us in the near future.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    168
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
153
360
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Can see why this hotel has won the title for top wedding receptions. Attended a wedding here in May the staff were very welcoming, the venue was top class, The meal was first class also. Accomodation at the courtyard not as nice as hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the hotel much superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your kind words regarding the wedding the staff and service.

I am sorry you did not find the Courtyard rooms as nice as the main house rooms , it is a very difficult balance regarding the rooms as the courtyard rooms are four star gold standard rooms and the Main House rooms are 5 star rooms and priced accordingly.

I hope we have the pleasure of you returning and hopefully staying in the main house where I am sure we will meet all your expectations.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for a night to break up a long journey. The room and bathroom where exceptionally clean and well equipped. The beds where comfortable and the welcome short bread was delicious. The full Scottish breakfast the next morning was very filling and very tasty. We also had dinner in the restaurant and a few drinks in the bar. The staff are attentive and helpful, the dinner was fantastic and very reasonable considering the quality. You'll pay a lot more for lesser quality elsewhere. The sat nav had a bit of bother finding the place, but that's hardly the hotels fault. Follow signs for the race course and you can't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad you decided to break up your journey with us.
We try very hard to ensure we have the very highest of cleaning standards and our team here are glad you found this to be the case.

Sorry about the Sat Nav and we are trying to resolve this issue as it is be very annoying for all concerned

I hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed here for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast bases. the room was large with a queen bed, which was very comfortable, the bathroom was also a good size immaculate with the option of a bath or shower.
dinner in the hotel was great no restrictions or supplements were applied. Glutton free diet was catered for
the service was excellent.
breakfast was also extremely good and fresh. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were in the courtroom 323 it had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Western House Hotel .

We hope we have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Couldn't agree more with all the previous positive reviews of this fabulous hotel especially regarding the super staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them for example bringing softer pillows or to filling the ice bucket. I can honestly say I have never been treated as well as we were on our 2 night break. Loved the comfortable stylish lounge especially the fireplace! On a very wet Saturday evening this was most welcoming! Dinner and breakfast were great value and beautifully presented. We look forward to returning, next time we will upgrade to the plush executive rooms although the courtyard room we had no326 was spacious and had everything you could need. Very well done to the team at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: no 326 end room with stairwell so no neighbours or executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kin review of Western House Hotel and the staff that work here. We take a great pride in the hotel and i am glad you felt this coming through from all our staff.
I hope you come and stay with us again and that the rain stays away for your next visit.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a romantic night away and couldn't have been happier with the hotel or room we were given. The staff were so friendly and couldn't have been any more helpful or friendly. Breakfast was great, eggs benedict highly recommended. We will def be back again. Thanks for making our weekend even better than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review and you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.
it is always nice to receive such positive reviews which I have passed on to the team.

We look forward to your return visit.

kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will get the grumble out of the way first...my satnav put me on the wrong street using the hotel postcode!

The hotel is superb, I travel a lot and this is very much in the higher ranks of quality and value. The hotel was booked with a bed & breakfast package and I was expecting the room and the food to be a bit "budget"...this was very much not the case.

The room (in the courtyard) was huge and very well furnished, everything about it was clean, well presented and very comfortable.

The food is in a league of its own, this place really works hard to provide top quality food and it does it well, the portions are just right and the service is spot-on without being in your face, this has to be one of the few places in the UK that actually understands and delivers a Bleu steak. The menu is interesting without being "up itself" and the food is well presented. Breakfast is an event in itself, I had the Full Scottish one morning and the quantity and quality rendered me useless for several hours....superb, but massive. Other mornings I had poached haddock for breakfast and my request posed no problems and a beautifully cooked piece of fish was delivered...its making me hungry just thinking of it.

In summary, a great hotel with super staff, discrete yet very helpful. The food is worth the trip alone...I will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleione73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and apologies for the wrong post code for the Sat Nav.

What a fantastic review for our kitchen Brigade I have passed on your comments to the Kitchen and front of house staff as it is always very rewarding to read that their efforts have been rewarded.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing