We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good family guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunn Thing

The Dunn Thing
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dunn Thing
Ranked #31 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
fewing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good family guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting family near Glasgow. We had a very nice welcome from the proprietors daughter who made up feel welcome and helped us settle in. There was plenty of room in the family room that we had booked for two adults and two teenagers, also our much loved dog was able to stay in the room as it was dog friendly. The guesthouse had been very tastefully decorated and we were told that there had been new carpets fitted. For breakfast there were 3 generations of one family doing the cooking!! Lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed here prior to flying out from Prestwick Airport. The accomodation was clean and the owner very welcoming and helpful. They recommended a nice restaurant 10 mins walk away (Chestnuts) and were very accomodating with our early flight the next day. Would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

Just back from a very pleasant stay in Ayr. This B&B is centrally located, great for a budget break and the owners are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate... I'd have absolutely no hesitation in recommending here for a great stay away

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank VLAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

This property looks lovely from the outside - but that's where it ends.
If it's a very poor bed, with a dirty bathroom and broken furniture that you like to experience when you're away from home, then this B&B is for you. Overall - the room we stayed in was very, very run down, and a long shot from 3 stars.

The owners of the property were very helpfull and pleasant however, sadly have no idea when it comes to providing a pleasant and comfortable stay.

If you wish to have coffee for breakfast, be aware that you must make it in your room first.

There are many other lovely looking B&B's and hotel in the area - even for around the same price - so it's best you look elsewhere.

Until things shape up at "The Dunn Thing" - do yourself a favour and opt for a better place to stay. Ayre is a lovely place, so trreat yourself.

  • Liked — Was situated in a lovely area, and had a beautifull facade
  • Disliked — The poor presentation and fitout of the room.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnrvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2006

We were in Ayr for a friends wedding and stayed at the Dunn Thing for a couple of nights. They picked us up from the airport, which was nice. When we got to the guest house the room was cold because nobody had switched on the heating. The furniture looked a bit run down, we had trouble keeping the wardrobe doors closed. The hospitality tray had one tea bag and several bags of sugar, nothing else, in addition the cups and spoons were dirty. The bathroom was a sort of closed box planted in on corner of the bedroom. During the time we were there the hospitality tray wasn't restocked, the same was true for the toilet paper. Breakfast was OK, we don't recommend the porridge, but the cutlery wasn't particularly clean, dried bits of something could be identified. There are plenty of things which could be improved and plenty of other guest houses to choose in that same street.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#5 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunn Thing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunn Thing

Property: The Dunn Thing
Address: 13 Park Circus, Ayr KA7 2DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dunn Thing 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dunn Thing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunn Thing Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing