We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brig O Doon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arrandale Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$158
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
168
48
27
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
48
27
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburns monumentburns nightwedding venuehouse hotelrobbie burnsbeautiful hotelamazing weddingbay windowsticky toffee puddingfirst classburns cottagehotel for dinnervisited this hotelhoneymoon suitewedding guestswedding receptionmy mum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Bank Holiday Monday so our intrepid 4 booked a leisurely lunch at the Brig O' Doon. The restaurant was reasonably busy and we were seated by the maitre 'D.

Menus provided and we all noted that the 2 course special lunch menu at £12.95 had everything we wanted. Starters were well above the average for a hotel lunch menu and delightfully served. Mains of liver, a particular favourite of our party, and the fish and chips were super. A bottle of house Merlot complemented our meals. As it was a holiday we all succumbed to the the dessert menu!! Sticky toffee pudding and the pavlova were works of art. Coffee and fudge to end our lavish lunch and we left to pay the bill of £97 which we all agreed was well worth the extravagance.

Having read a few of the earlier reports about the restaurant staff and the poor service, we did think that the restaurant manager could do with a charisma implant as he was not at all welcoming however we could not fault any of the waiting staff and the service we received.

Food quality was excellent and its location in the heart of Burns country makes the trip special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for our wedding and booked out the Doonbrae House to stay in for the weekend. We were very impressed by the quality of service we received and I was very surprised by some of the negative reviews on here as that has never been our experience.

This place has been a favourite of mine for a long time and I have eaten here countless times and have never been anything less than impressed.

At our wedding people were genuinely complimenting the quality of the food and it was head and shoulders above any banqueting food we have ever had elsewhere.

The accommodation is first class Doonbrae House is simply stunning and the hotel rooms are nice too.

The staff are extremely helpful and experienced and they were key to assisting in making our wedding day perfect.
Food Favourite: Cullen Skink Followed by the Fillet Steak – Yum!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are a little dark during the day due to the style of the property and small windows - but that is part of the charm of the place. The Doonbrae House bedrooms are all stunning and very bright.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulfheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Having passed a few times, always wanted to pop in. So after a nice walk around alloway, we dropped in for a coffee and maybe a light lunch. Well,we were turned away at the door, as they were expecting a wedding and there was no space. No apology, no attempt at hospitality, I had said we would sit in any nook, cranny or corner. I guess our face didn't fit because the couple before us were led away to the bar for their lunch. I guess I will take my business elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2012
7  Thank m1k3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had lunch here on Saturday. The food was good but the service terrible. When we were seated at our table and asked about drinks we said we'd like some wine with our meal. Menus arrived, but no wine list. Had to ask three more times before one was provided, but then it took nearly 10 mins to get an order taken. The restaurant wasn't terribly busy , but had to wait ages to be fed. The poor standard of service let down the quality of the food

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank catlady234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

First time back here after our wedding nearly four years ago. It was a busy Friday evening with a huge wedding reception also. Service was excellent, the staff made time to talk to us even though every table was booked and the bar bustling. My Cullen Skink starter was the best ever, followed by a delicious chicken breast stuffed with haggis!! All 4 of us enjoyed our mains and struggled with desserts! A really pleasurable dining experience.....I love this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabellCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews