We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Ballyclare
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation, great facilities”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived by car, great views, massive site. Check-in was very busy but everyone polite & friendly. Didn't take long, we were staying in chalet in Burns village but the sign said Burns Square which confused us for few minutes! Chalet was at far end of camp, first impressions count for a lot and in places there was a lot of litter, however our chalet was fine. Yes, as someone else noted, there were cobwebs on the windows and the decor was dated and basic but it was clean and tidy.
There are a lot of activities available for all age groups, thou as they get older the more you have to pay for. I have a 3 yr old and he was able to enjoy various activities free of charge. A number of these took place in the Airspace, he did mini sports (Football, Archery & Fencing) & Toddler time, used bouncy castle & soft play. Staff very busy at times but always made you feel welcome & they were great with the child who had a great time, which is the main thing!
The Seaside Squad (the mascot characters) are always about which the kids love, they join in with a lot of activities & also in the evening entertainment with the FunStars (the entertainers). We mainly sat in the Bonga Wonga bar & as someone else said the floor is very sticky in places and the kids toys (bubbles etc) are on the expensive side.
Arcade area you have to pass thou to get to the main lounges, it is very difficult not to spend money here, the thrill of winning hand-fulls of tickets is sort of ruined when the prizes they can be exchanged for are cheap alternatives to what can be bought in your local £ shop.
Pool area, now for the amount of people using this facility i can understand how hard it is to keep clean, maybe good idea to employ staff just for changing room duty as opposed to lifeguards trying to keep on top of it. Pool itself was fine, busy but not overly big ques for flumes, we enjoyed it, thou you have to time it right when to get out, don't leave it to late cos it's a mad rush for a cubicle!
Variety of food outlets, Burger King, Chinese, Chippy and 'Brigs' restaurant all seemed to be edible and standard holiday food fare. 'Brigs' nice to sit & chill in and a member of the Seaside Squad made an appearance every morning for a character breakfast, no obligation to buy anything if you wanted a picture with them.
Spar shop and gift shop on site, both quite expensive, if you have transport there is a co-op 5mins down the road.
Wee funfair on site, good fun but again the prizes are cheap plastic toys discarded after a day.
We were lucky with the weather, even managed a couple of afternoons on the beach, which is great for rock pools when the tide is out.
We would return to Craig Tara but only if the child is still young enough to enjoy free activities, we're not tight just don't like having to pay over the odds!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was happy to hear your feedback on our facilities and our accommodation. We have a wide range of facilities on park and attractions, which I am sure your family took advantage off.

Regards to the issues you have raised, I can advise that we have taken heed of all your of your comments, which although critical are constructive and afford us the opportunity to improve our in-house facilities and thereby offer all our guests improved services

Kind regards

Sara Court
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    564
    305
    224
    349
See reviews for
1,532
106
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we stayed here for a week at the start of Aug. was very happy with the caravan got a lot more than I expected for a deluxe. the kids loved the pool and flumes...I noticed the changing rooms and showers had been updated since we last came to haven so that was good to see. we used the laundrette for the first time on this visit and was shocked at the price £7.50 for a jumbo wash. I was expecting a few pound but I did feel that was a lot to pay for a 20 min wash. the park was very clean however there was a few families that thought they could just chuck stuff every where which is a shame cause it is a lovely park. I feel maybe try and "police" these families then a lot of campers would be a lot happier.
we went along the beach and I was a little upset to see the mess. again people going onto the beach and leaving rubbish, beer cans.. clothes...food etc. I don't know who is responsible to clean the beach haven/local council but maybe look into that. it is a lovely wee beach and the views are stunning and it can put a lot of people off using it.

all staff we spoke to were very friendly...the wrestling was brilliant...my son loved getting his picture with the wrestlers...and even now still chants "YES YES YES" with his hands in the air. my youngest daughter loved Aladdin...she is princess mad. and may I add Aladdin's mother...she was excellent!!! very funny.

we spent some time in ayr had a look round and found a lovely little chip shop...do try Marcos food was very nice and cheap..£4 for any supper!!

over all we had a lovely time at haven...and again it hasn't put me off going back at all. I know the few little negatives I have pointed out aren't all at the fault of the site I just wish certain people weren't so selfish.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank harveys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As your title suggests, it sounds like you had a great family holiday. I am delighted to hear your feedback on our facilities and our accommodation. We have a wide range of facilities on park and attractions, which I am sure your family took advantage off.

With regards to your comments on the litter on park and beach,I have spoken with the grounds manager, who has asked me to forward on his apologies and to advise that we have taken heed of all your of your comments, which although critical are constructive and afford us the opportunity to improve our in-house facilities and thereby offer all our guests improved services.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sara Court
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed Monday-Friday in a prestige caravan located in the kings barns area which was great! Beautiful views and very well maintained! Caravan was very high standard and extremely warm with the heating which was great! Only 5 mins from the main complex. Used the pool everyday, it could do with someone attending the changing rooms more frequently as the floor was messy and dirty. Papa johns is great value for money but Cooks could do with an extra person serving as we had a long wait for food. Overall we had a great time and would come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pottypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As your title suggests, it sounds like you had a great family holiday. I am delighted to hear your feedback on our facilities and our accommodation. We have a wide range of facilities on park and attractions, which I am sure your family took advantage off.

With regards to your comments on the swimming pool and cooks, I have spoken with the relevant managers, who have asked me to forward on their apologies and to advise that we have taken heed of all your of your comments, which although critical are constructive and afford us the opportunity to improve our in-house facilities and thereby offer all our guests improved services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sara Court
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a fabulous caravan through a private hire and it was the highlight of our stay. This Haven is a former Butlins site and it shows. As others have reported the site is quite tatty and litter is everywhere. This is mainly down to the multitude of fast food outlets and mobile takeaways(!) that Haven have invited onto the site. This site describes itself as having direct beach access. That depends on your opinion of a beach. Personally I was somewhat put off by the sewage treatment works located at the far end of the "beach“ and which discharges water maybe a hundred yards out to sea. I won't be letting my kids near that water. The smell is a mix of sewage and seaweed but many others have not been deterred as the litter trail will confirm. Some caravan units are also located within a few yards of the sewage treatment works. The rest of the site contains a multi sports venue although dominated mainly by older teenagers playing football. The pool looked quite dated from outside but is actually quite good once you get inside. It is deceptively large and split over three levels and when these are all open there is space for everyone. Alas this being Haven that is rarely the case for long with the upper levels frequently being closed to allow for paid for activity sessions. There are several slides and water flumes but these are also closed regularly when there is no apparent reason as they dont effect the activity sessions. As usual Haven pool opening times are very limited 9:30 to 5:45 with a further 90 closure in the middle of the day to maximize paid for activity sessions. Independent parks don't do this. My kids were unimpressed with the activities for youngsters so never went back after the first day. The other venues are dominated by the activity BongWonga bar and the arcades. All in all quite disappointing example of the brand. If I'm honest a free stay would not tempt me back. The surrounding area is superb with plenty to see and do. Just don't stay at Craig Tara Haven when you do.

Room Tip: Perhaps request accomodation away from the sewage treatment works or better still, stay somewhere el...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Penguin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

On behalf on AYR 123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayr hotels

bristol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Although our caravan in Aaron view was lovely and I have no complaints at all about that , everything else on the park was dirty and disgusting, and how people are rating it any different is worrying me about the state of where they live and what they live in,
Vile families with no respect for anyone else or their belongings, swimming pool was dirty and broken , changing area was just filthy , went to the nightlife but turned around and left again as the smell in bongo lounge was terrible , spent all our time off the park as it made me want to cry being there !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I can advise that we have taken heed of all your of your comments, which although critical are constructive and afford us the opportunity to improve our in-house facilities and thereby offer all our guests improved services

Kind regards

Sara Court
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked two rooms with kids under 4 years and a disabled women in the other. My mother paid extra for an upgraded room . We checked in at time allowed 4pm found that we where placed up two flights of stairs with identical apartments (1 was supposed to be upgraded). The hallway door had a metal step which was not screwed into the floor hanging out with 5 screw nails showing and a hand full of old screw nails lying beside the step our 4 year old fell over it into a hallway with blown bulbs and no windows. She was lying screaming in darkness as the fire door crushed her leg. We finally found the key hole on our door to enter into a hostel like apartment ! Blood on door frames dishes rinsed and left on wooden table . Settee covered in some talc like substance cob webs in every corner . Quaver crisps under sofa(visible) fully opening windows with no child locks at all. Had to leave room until after 6pm while the "checkers" cleaned the mess one worker even quoted she was going to 'f'ing kill Amy (the cleaner) we where allowed to go into our apartment after speaking to the site manager we where waiting for the accommodation manager to come before we moved our bags in. NEVER shown. We went up early morning complaining again and again. TOOK 5 DAYS TO REPLACE A BULB AND SCREW DOWN A DOOR STEP AT THE TOP OF A SET OF STAIRS. still haven't spoken to accommodation manager. Spent 4 hours cleaning apartment ourselves so our child could play inside. Beds where bowed into the middle . Sofa bed broken. TV the size of a matchbox. Toilet didn't flush .door didnt lock properly. Managers promised contact which HAS STILL NOT HAPPENED WE ARE HOME A WEEK NOW. Very poor if you are going Think Again !!!! Burger king on site was 2.90 for a cheeseburger which cost 99p 5minutes drive away. Rip off ! And if you try and complain it can only be done by post within 7 days from your holiday !!!!! Its a scam

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank T.J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Guest Relations Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Thank you for leaving a review based on your recent stay at Craig Tara.

I am sorry to read you had a bad experience with us and have passed all your comments on to the relevant departments.


Kind Regards,

Jennifer Carrick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked a private caravan on a Haven site through 'ayr123.co.uk' and found it clean, very well equipped and superbly placed overlooking the sea. We had tickets for the Glasgow games and drove into the city everyday but enjoyed downtime on site and visiting local attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful and the shop well stocked. Wifi is free in the restaurant where you can buy a drink and check e-mails. Our kids played on the beach, in the arcade and golf on the par 3 course. We enjoyed Craig Tara and would recommend checking the site as well as Haven.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

AYR 123 Caravans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
12.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.8 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
4.0 mi away
St. Andrews Hotel
St. Andrews Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
3.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Dunure Road, Ayr KA7 4LB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craig Tara offer a fun filled, action packed family holiday's in an Idyllic rural setting just outside the town of Ayr. We aim to help make Memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Tara Hotel Ayr
Craig Tara Ayr
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing