We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely b&b with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely b&b with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had a very pleasant stay at the b&b, after attending a wedding at the brig of doon it was a short drive after a long day! Room was clean, spacious and well catered for. Helen and her husband were extremely accommodating to my needs and I was made to feel very welcome and would definetely consider staying there again if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicz2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
123
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were going to a wedding at the Brig o'Doon hotel so this was ideally located. Helen's husband gave us a lift to the hotel in the evening which was ideal as we were able to leave our car at Sunnyside and get a taxi back. Our room key even had a tab with the phone number of a local taxi firm attached which was helpful. Our room was very comfortable (Culzean) with everything you could want - en-suite, TV, well stocked hospitality tray, lovely toiletries, fluffy towels and a comfy bed! The breakfast was outstanding, a real showcase for Scottish produce. We liked the haggis so much that Helen gave us details of her supplier and some from her own freezer to take home with us. I'd thoroughly recommend Sunnyside and am only sorry our stay was just for the one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in Culzean which was spacious, on the first floor and looks into the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
I hope that the haggis travelled well! It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully we will be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Great place to stay, downstairs accommodation recommended for 'disabled'. We stayed for 5 nights. Helen and her assistant Mary were just so nice and helpful, it was a real joy to stay there. Helen even drove us to a local restaurant one evening as it was not good for parking, this shows the extra efforts she does for her guests.

Room Tip: 1 downstairs bedroom suitable for disabled, very quiet, and has everything one needs for a very enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYCE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

very clean with a warm and friendly welcome. staff very accommodating and helpful in arranging transport into town and to local caravan park for pool competition i was attending. Great food have used guest house a few times now and highly recommend for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you will be able to stay with us again if attending Craig Tara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a good place to stay when visiting Robbie Burns Cottage and Museum only 1 mile away.
We had a warm welcome at the B&B by our host Helen and was given tea/coffee on our arrival. Our room was lovely and had Ensuite, TV and coffee/Tea facilities and also had hairdryer.
We only stayed overnight but the bed was lovely and comfy and had a good nights sleep. Our breakfast was delicious. There is off street parking which is a BIG plus when you want to leave cases in the car.
5 minutes away is the Brig O'Doon Hotel and the food and service was 10/10.
When we were leaving Helen gave us a map and directions, nothing was too much trouble.
Would certainly recommend .
Barbara and Neville Australia

Room Tip: We had front room on right side, we had NO traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnev169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope that you may be able to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just home to Ardfinnan,Co.Tipperary,Ireland having been guests at a wedding in the Brig O'Doon Hotel which is a mere 5 minutes from Sunnyside. We arrived at 10am on Wed.morning and as Helen was away we were greeted by a lovely lady called Mary who welcomed us to Scotland and immediately offered us a cup of tea. My wife and I intended to get a bus into town to have a look around, Mary wouldn't hear of it and insisted giving us a lift into the towncentre, despite the fact that some of the roads were closed due to fallen trees.Not only did Helen drop us up to the wedding on Thurs,she was up at cockcrow on Fri morning to provide breakfast and then drove us to the railway station in Ayr to catch the 8am train to Glasgow Airport.
In Sunnyside we stayed in the beautifully furnished "Alloway" room.where there was tea & coffee facilities available, full ensuite and enough TV channels to pass a wet and windy day if the need arose. The food was excellent and as my heading states it was like " a home away from home", probably better. We would highly recommend Sunnyside B&B. PS: I forgot to mention, the sea is only just around the corner if one felt like a quick swim before breakfast.

John & Eileen

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bocsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our home and we hope that you'll have reason to visit Ayr again in the future.

Helen, Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, Ayr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Visiting Ayrshire for family event, stayed at Sunnyside for 2 nights. Helen provided a warm friendly greeting with a pot of tea which was very welcome on a cold wet stormy evening. The generous size room was a very clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, relaxing and quiet. It is only a ten minute drive to the centre of Ayr which allowed us to get to the shops early and get parked close to the centre. Helen was very helpful and made us feel very welcome and we would not hesitate to stay at Sunnyside again. Dawn & John

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John50G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
It was lovely to meet you both and we hope that you will be able to stay with us again sometime.

Helen, Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, Ayr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.3 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#14 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
1.9 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#8 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.8 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 26 Dunure Road | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1994, Sunnyside 4-Star Gold Bed and Breakfast is close to Alloway, birthplace of Robert Burns, Scotland's National Poet. The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and Brig O'Doon are only one mile away. Sunnyside is situated on the stunning A719 coastal route on the south side of Ayr. Beautiful sandy beach and the Ayrshire Coastal Path are less than 10 minutes walk. Sunnyside caters for guests individual needs and has achieved VisitScotland Walkers, Cyclists, Classic Cars, Bikers and Film Crews Welcome awards. Make Sunnyside your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing