We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay here was a real pleasure. Not only good accomodation & breakfast, but also very friendly and homely. I have no revisions in recommended Sunnyside, and will have no hesitation in staying there again.
Les Wilson
Also on behalf of Duncan Wilson

Room Tip: I don't think you'll get a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwilson291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad that you enjoyed the few days with us before heading south. Hopefully, you will make it up this way again and the next time it will be all 3 of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
123
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having recently lost my wife through illness, I thought I would try a few days as a 'tester' for future holidays. I found that Helen and John put me ease and therefore i enjoyed four nights of relaxation and comfort. The 'Scottish breakfast' was all that you could ask for.

Room Tip: Light and airy. Plenty of space. Comfortable bed. Perfectly working shower. All on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and leaving your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax a bit while here. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Made to feel welcome from the start. Upstairs front bedroom with 2 beds and en-suite. Breakfast was excellent especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Perfect location for the new Robert Burns NTS Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Booked very last minute and made to feel very welcome. We had the downstairs double room which suited us perfectly.
The breakfast had plenty choice and set us up for the day.
Have booked again already
Ignore the rating for the swimming pool - theyt don't have one but I couldn't "unclick"!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank da c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We look forward to meeting you again later this month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

A beautiful lovely Bed and breakfast, with such a lovely warm atmosphere. It was a delight to stay and dine in such a positve place, with a short walk away from the beach and with great weather. Many praises must be given to Mr and Mrs Malcolm for beautifully preserving the Bed and Breakfast, such caring people, that were always on hand to ensure you have the best stay possible. Highly recommend a break to Ayr and to the Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast. I will certainly be returning to visit once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you to Sunnyside the next time you are in Ayr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salelm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is lovely, and the room we had was very charming and comfortable. The Malcolms were very gracious and helpful with information about the area. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you all and perhaps we will see you again one day if you make it back to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

First visit to Ayr... rather idyllic...beautiful weather for a morning walk on the beach, an unusual combination of seaside and old university town with stone houses. Sunnyside is really quiet, beauifully taken care of, comfortable and clean and Helen was attentive, friendly, helpful. Tea and delicious banana bread on arrival and a bounteous breakfast. Could not have been better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seangray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope you and your family will have reason to stay in Ayr again and look forward to being able to accommodate you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.3 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#13 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
2.1 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 26 Dunure Road | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1994, Sunnyside 4-Star Gold Bed and Breakfast is close to Alloway, birthplace of Robert Burns, Scotland's National Poet. The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and Brig O'Doon are only one mile away. Sunnyside is situated on the stunning A719 coastal route on the south side of Ayr. Beautiful sandy beach and the Ayrshire Coastal Path are less than 10 minutes walk. Sunnyside caters for guests individual needs and has achieved VisitScotland Walkers, Cyclists, Classic Cars, Bikers and Film Crews Welcome awards. Make Sunnyside your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing