We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for a wedding in the Brig o Doon. When we arrived we were running out of time and while I was putting my make up on, the owner offered to iron my dress for me. The breakfast was lovely. Fantastic service, you couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed Sunnyside accommodation and the extra services that we offer. We hope you will be able to stay with us again sometime if you are back in Ayr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
125
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only stayed overnight as attending wedding at Brig o Doon. Helen a great hostess and nothing too much trouble. Drove us to wedding venue and supplied us with info for taxi home which worked out perfectly. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. Would stay here again if ever in Ayr for a break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope that if you have another wedding at the Brig O'Doon Hotel or event in Alloway you will be able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As we were attending an early afternoon wedding in Brig O' Doon Hotel, Helen had gone out of her way to make the room available earlier than normal, which allowed my wife and I to get in to the room and unpack, Helen also provided us with a welcome cup of tea and some shortbread as we were unpacking.
The room was clean, bright and very comfortable, with an accessible bathroom nearby.
Helen took us personally to the hotel and dropped us off in time for the service.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and all requirements were catered for. We sat with other guests and all chatted through breakfast as if we were old friends.
I couldn't recommend Sunnyside enough!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you felt at home here. Hope to see you return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A lovely warm welcome from Helen who served us tea and shortbread in the garden and had a blanket and bed ready for our little dog. Room was spotless, bed was so comfortable, power shower really was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and so tasty as Helen prides herself on using top quality locally sourced foods and homemade preserves. Short distance to beach so ideal for giving our dog a walk before breakfast and last thing at night.
Everything was perfect as we had been travelling around Scotland and wanted somewhere to chill out for a couple of days before returning home and it was easy to relax at Sunnyside. Thank you Helen so much

Room Tip: you don't need to worry all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are glad that you both and "Poppy" felt so at home here. Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunnyside and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having arrived at 0020 hrs (some 5 hrs later than expected) my 92 year old Mum & I were warmly welcomed and put at our ease following a stressful journey. The same calm & welcoming reassurance continued throughout our stay with an invitation to partake of homemade scnes fresh from the oven and the offer of a lift to the Brigadoon for the wedding we were attending & not forgetting Helen's delicious quick & easy recipe homemade soda bread & Mum's breakfast in bed. 5* just not enough - 10* so much more deserved. Thnkyou Helen & John - looking forward to meeting you again & enjoying your wonderful hospitality. Berni & Mary (Staffordshire)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniVB2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible after your nightmare journey to get here. We hope to see you again, perhaps with bike! Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked in at sunny side for a wedding and we were extremely happy. Helen was a fantastic hostess who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was superb. We ate every last bit. We would 100% recommend sunny side.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natjensonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
296 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had our first stay at Sunnyside over Christmas. What a warm, hospitable and friendly welcome from Helen who was very accommodating when our flight was late getting in and very helpful all through Christmas.

Good breakfast even on Christmas day when we were surprised with warm pancakes even though we had agreed that a cold, continental breakfast would be more than adequate.

Consistently good breakfast which also varied which was a welcome, personal touch. We could also vary the times which was helpful.

The room was spotlessly clean and had all of the creature comforts you needed. It was great to see the thoughtful, personal touches (recycling trays, a biscuit or a mince pie each day) as well as the usual TV, hairdryer, tea, coffee and toiletries.

Good location for us close to our relatives. If you want to be in Ayr this would be a little drive into the centre.

We stayed in the Alloway room at the front which was very good for what we needed. Roomy and set back from the road. One small point for me was the bed having a fixed foot board which isn't great for tall people but there was nothing Helen could do about that and I certainly would not complain as it was not a real problem.

I would definitely stay there again for the service, the friendly welcome and the high standards of accommodation and food. Sunnyside is in my address book and is a great advert for a well run and personalised approach to running an upmarket B and B.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet even at the front. Ask Helen when you book about the differences in the rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope that you manage to stay here again if in the area. We have other rooms with king sized beds for taller guests - please ask when booking if you would prefer this. Have a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
1.3 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#14 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
1.9 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#10 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.8 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 26 Dunure Road | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1994, Sunnyside 4-Star Gold Bed and Breakfast is close to Alloway, birthplace of Robert Burns, Scotland's National Poet. The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and Brig O'Doon are only one mile away. Sunnyside is situated on the stunning A719 coastal route on the south side of Ayr. Beautiful sandy beach and the Ayrshire Coastal Path are less than 10 minutes walk. Sunnyside caters for guests individual needs and has achieved VisitScotland Walkers, Cyclists, Classic Cars, Bikers and Film Crews Welcome awards. Make Sunnyside your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing