We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great couple of days”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A big thank you to Helen and her helpers at Sunnyside B and B who gave us that little bit extra attention and help while we were staying there while attending a wedding nearby. Nothing was too much trouble for them....and what a fantastic breakfast. Would not go anywhere else when next staying in Ayr.

Room Tip: The Arren room was great and very spacious with integral en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for such a good review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the Sunnyside breakfast. We take pride in this, which features home baking and local, naturally reared meat and other Ayrshire produce.

Hope to see you all again sometime for another Brig O'Doon wedding or other occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
128
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here with my 2 friends the night before we were bridesmaids at our friends wedding at Brig O Doon.

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Helen, shown to our room (very clean, comfortable, spacious and homely) and offered a cup of tea and it arrived with some amazing homemade cake as we got ourselves unpacked.

During the process of booking, Helen had been a great help in advising of restaurants in the local area and kindly offered to book a table for us (we ate at the Pines - thoroughly enjoyed it - walking distance from Sunnyside)

We were able to pick our breakfast the night before and having specified our time (early rise for the wedding) it was all ready for us when we got downstairs.

Breakfast was excellent - Helen is very good in the kitchen!

We were then given a lift along to Brig O Doon with all our bags (5 mins in the car) which was welcome as it had started to drizzle a wee bit!

I have another wedding coming up next year at the Brig so have been on the phone to Sunnyside to get it booked up already. Enjoyed the stay so much we're going to have 2 days there and have a wee wander in the surrounding area and taking my husband and inlaws this time.

I can't recommend this b&b enough if you find yourself in that pretty part of Scotland/attending a wedding in Alloway/Brig O Doon, the owner takes immense pride in what she does and it shows with all the lovely touches as well as the beautiful condition of the property.

Full marks! And I'm not easy to please :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomohawk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was lovely to meet you and the other 2 bridesmaids and we are proud to specialise in accommodation for guests of the Brig O'Doon Hotel. At Sunnyside, service is extremely important and we are glad that you appreciated all the little extras. We are looking forward to seeing you again and meeting hubby and the in-laws!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I got married at the Brig o' Doon on Sunday 18th May 2014, and me and my two best man stayed at Sunnyside the night before. We needed a place where we could really relax, have a good night's sleep and get ready in the morning, and the Sunnyside B&B was the perfect place for this.

Helen and John couldn't have been more accommodating, from the initial booking right through to us leaving. I had my first good sleep that week at the B&B, the breakfast in the morning was superb and Helen even offered to iron our shirts!! At the request of the best men, she also left a chilled bottle of champagne outside my room when we returned from dinner on Saturday - amazing. PLUS...the location in relation to the Brig o' Doon was ideal. It took a matter of minutes to drive there and they do offer to take you if you'd prefer!

Can't recommend enough, it's as simple as that. Thank you Helen and John!

Room Tip: If you're a bride or groom, email Helen beforehand and she'll make sure you get the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonGriffiths83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. I'm pleased that we were able to accommodate you and your 2 best men the night before your wedding at the Brig O'Doon Hotel and assist in making your last night as a single man as pleasant as possible. Wishing you both all the best for a long and happy married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this lovely BB .. Helen made us very welcome room was grand very clean had our own shower spotless .. sat in the garden for a hour befour going to the beach , the taxi service is good if you stay out late .. full scottish breakfast was fab .. i will return again soon .. thank again helen ... trish ☺

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all that Ayr has to offer. You said that you hope to return soon for another relaxing break and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunnyside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for a wedding in the Brig o Doon. When we arrived we were running out of time and while I was putting my make up on, the owner offered to iron my dress for me. The breakfast was lovely. Fantastic service, you couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed Sunnyside accommodation and the extra services that we offer. We hope you will be able to stay with us again sometime if you are back in Ayr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Only stayed overnight as attending wedding at Brig o Doon. Helen a great hostess and nothing too much trouble. Drove us to wedding venue and supplied us with info for taxi home which worked out perfectly. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. Would stay here again if ever in Ayr for a break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope that if you have another wedding at the Brig O'Doon Hotel or event in Alloway you will be able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As we were attending an early afternoon wedding in Brig O' Doon Hotel, Helen had gone out of her way to make the room available earlier than normal, which allowed my wife and I to get in to the room and unpack, Helen also provided us with a welcome cup of tea and some shortbread as we were unpacking.
The room was clean, bright and very comfortable, with an accessible bathroom nearby.
Helen took us personally to the hotel and dropped us off in time for the service.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and all requirements were catered for. We sat with other guests and all chatted through breakfast as if we were old friends.
I couldn't recommend Sunnyside enough!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you felt at home here. Hope to see you return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.7 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
2.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#9 of 54 in Ayr
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miller House Guest House
1.8 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 54 in Ayr
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 26 Dunure Road | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1994, Sunnyside 4-Star Gold Bed and Breakfast is close to Alloway, birthplace of Robert Burns, Scotland's National Poet. The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and Brig O'Doon are only one mile away. Sunnyside is situated on the stunning A719 coastal route on the south side of Ayr. Beautiful sandy beach and the Ayrshire Coastal Path are less than 10 minutes walk. Sunnyside caters for guests individual needs and has achieved VisitScotland Walkers, Cyclists, Classic Cars, Bikers and Film Crews Welcome awards. Make Sunnyside your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing