We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Following The Wednesday”
Review of St. Andrews Hotel

St. Andrews Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Andrews Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Following The Wednesday”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Booked an en-suite for the three days we were up to see the Kilmarnock game. For £60 per nite B & B I did n't expect the earth but did expect more than the tiniest of rooms with just one chair and not so much as a wardrobe or cupboard in sight, there was n't room for iether to be fair.

In such a small room the TV flat screen was positioned so high on the wall as to be uncomfortable to watch.

Being disabled I specified a bath requirement on booking but we had a wc/shower which was ample in size to have taken a bath but there was not even a shelf to be had in the showere room.
The only fixtures were the solitary towel rail and the toilet roll holder.

The Breakfast on offer was ample but I was disapointed by the lack of tomatoes or mushrooms.

The place was advertised at £48 P double PN on the internet but when I booked by phone was told this did not include breakfast.

All in all no better than a 5/10 experience and that is being generous. Shop around !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nevowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    6
    8
    0
See reviews for
10
16
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week and couldn't have expected more from a B&B. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The staff are very friendly. I didn't have the cooked breakfast and settled for cereals instead with coffee and orange juice. The room I had was towards the rear and was very quiet which is a must for me as I don't like to hear cars passing by all night. I would recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to book there again should my work take me to Ayr in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Fine family run establishment - friendly and helpful staff. Very clean - bedrooms immaculate and well appointed. Bar with a wide range of quality lagers at a fair price. Most helpful with local travel and eatery information. In all a very good value for money establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We arrived in Ayr somewhat stressed, without reservations, having to drop off our rental car and catch a ferry in the morning. St. Andrews Hotel solved all my anxiety! They booked us into a very large room with a huge bathroom, and then they served us a couple pints in their lovely, atmospheric pub. The bartenders were helpful with bus instructions to get down the road for dinner, and even pre-arranged a taxi to get us to the ferry in the morning. We returned to the pub after dinner for a few more pints, and the bartender let us hang out as late as possible because we were having such a good time talking with the other patrons. We didn't have much time for breakfast in the morning, but the lovely breakfast cook brought us toast and bacon anyway...great experience, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank droppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Hotel

Property: St. Andrews Hotel
Address: 7 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Andrews Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing