We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of St. Andrews Hotel

St. Andrews Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Andrews Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

First impression was oh no!! Wrong, we had a very large warm & comfortable room.
Very friendly staff, enjoyed a lovely bar meal ,very reasonably priced, and the breakfast great ,freshly cooked as was the toast. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for St. Andrews Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

Initial reaction on entering the hotel is to turn around and leave. No reception area, just a dingy hallway with a frosted glass door to one side. No sign advising how to check in, but a push button beside the door.

After pushing this button a man appeared and showed me into the bar to check in.
I was shown to my room along a passage and through a door marked "PRIVATE" Staff Only.

Initial impressions of the room were favourable. Freshly decorated, modern coordinated bed covers and drapes. Twin room very small. Television unable to receive many channels as the picture broke up due to poor signal. Makeshift wardrobe made of two pieces of furniture board.
DIY is obviously not a strong point of the owners.

En-suite - grim. Vinyl flooring laid direct onto concrete floor. Hairs in shower. Black fungus on tiles. Cobweb hanging from window. No drapes. Tiny radiator.

Awakened in the morning to find room freezing cold, radiator had just the slightest suggestion of heat in it. Bathroom was even colder. Shower pressure was good, but floor was freezing cold.

Decided not to indulge in the included breakfast.

This could be fairly decent establishment if a little bit of updating and cleaning was carried out.

It appears to be frequented by a lot of tradesman judging by the number of vans parked in the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tannedbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was damp and cold, Needs redecorated and carpets need changing.floral plugin overpowering. had four singlebeds in one room and only one chair.Feels like a mans hotel.stag do or football crowd would like it. However very clean beds and towels. Have to have breakfast before 9.30 on a sunday morning. Waiter looked as if he couldn,t wait to get us out.People also came for breakfast from two bed and breakfasts opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Booked an en-suite for the three days we were up to see the Kilmarnock game. For £60 per nite B & B I did n't expect the earth but did expect more than the tiniest of rooms with just one chair and not so much as a wardrobe or cupboard in sight, there was n't room for iether to be fair.

In such a small room the TV flat screen was positioned so high on the wall as to be uncomfortable to watch.

Being disabled I specified a bath requirement on booking but we had a wc/shower which was ample in size to have taken a bath but there was not even a shelf to be had in the showere room.
The only fixtures were the solitary towel rail and the toilet roll holder.

The Breakfast on offer was ample but I was disapointed by the lack of tomatoes or mushrooms.

The place was advertised at £48 P double PN on the internet but when I booked by phone was told this did not include breakfast.

All in all no better than a 5/10 experience and that is being generous. Shop around !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nevowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week and couldn't have expected more from a B&B. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The staff are very friendly. I didn't have the cooked breakfast and settled for cereals instead with coffee and orange juice. The room I had was towards the rear and was very quiet which is a must for me as I don't like to hear cars passing by all night. I would recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to book there again should my work take me to Ayr in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Fine family run establishment - friendly and helpful staff. Very clean - bedrooms immaculate and well appointed. Bar with a wide range of quality lagers at a fair price. Most helpful with local travel and eatery information. In all a very good value for money establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We arrived in Ayr somewhat stressed, without reservations, having to drop off our rental car and catch a ferry in the morning. St. Andrews Hotel solved all my anxiety! They booked us into a very large room with a huge bathroom, and then they served us a couple pints in their lovely, atmospheric pub. The bartenders were helpful with bus instructions to get down the road for dinner, and even pre-arranged a taxi to get us to the ferry in the morning. We returned to the pub after dinner for a few more pints, and the bartender let us hang out as late as possible because we were having such a good time talking with the other patrons. We didn't have much time for breakfast in the morning, but the lovely breakfast cook brought us toast and bacon anyway...great experience, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank droppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Hotel

Address: 7 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Andrews Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing