We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”
Review of St. Andrews Hotel

St. Andrews Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Andrews Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked an overnight here. Welcomed by a friendly manager and shown our room which was a fair size, very clean and comfortable. Had a drink at the bar which we did find expensive. Had a very comfortable sleep . Up for breakfast which was tasty but a bit on the small side, 2 slice of crispy bacon, 1 sausage , 1 fried egg, potato scone and some beans served with 3 slices of toast between us, cereal and fruit juice were also on offer. One criticism i would have is not being asked how we would have liked our eggs and bacon another is the lack of choice, we have stayed elsewhere in ayr for the same price and breakfast has been far superior. All in all a nice wee hotel perfect for an overnight but not for a stay of any longer than this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scully2052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    7
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
18
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel over the New Year ,with my husband and son,the room consisted of four single beds , the furniture and fittings were of a very poor standard.
Also the room was very poorly heated and in much need of a makeover.
My son was so cold we had to put our cots over the bed.
This was clearly not a room suitable for a family more like a room for mens stag night.
We cut our short break by one day although we never received any apology our compensation,
from owners. This was very dissapointing as we have visited the Ayrshire district many times.would not recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel for famalies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovejack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Me and my Son stayed at this hotel as a stop over en route to the West Highlands, and to visit relatives in Prestwick. It was a perfect location for both.

The check in was quick and friendly, and I was allowed to have my 2 small dogs there too.

The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, and the beds and room facilities were adequate.

The bar meal choices were good and our meals were delicious. The breakfast was delicious too!

All in all, a value for money, comfortable stop over. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A last minute booking this is a very clean and comfortable small hotel would normally stay in larger hotel the rooms clean and very good value for the price breakfast good with nice little bar I have used it twice and would use again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumnock
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for the bowling tournament for the last few years and booked once again for next week.
For the price the hotel is everything you would hope for, always had a large room for my wife and myself, owners and staff very nice, breakfast is more than adequate and very handy for Northfield Bowling Club.

Room Tip: Always been lucky and had a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOEBOY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here recently the night before a flight from Prestwick. Owners very pleasant however the room was very small and on the ground floor directly opposite the bar. Noisy all evening until the bar closed. At 3.15 in the morning I was woken by a drunk trying to get into the hotel, busy shouting up to his pal to let me in.

It was cheap but I wouldn't use it again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

First impression was oh no!! Wrong, we had a very large warm & comfortable room.
Very friendly staff, enjoyed a lovely bar meal ,very reasonably priced, and the breakfast great ,freshly cooked as was the toast. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
1.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Hotel

Property: St. Andrews Hotel
Address: 7 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Andrews Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your St. Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing