We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not so cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The rooms are en suite and very cheap and above a nice pub which has good entertainment.

The hotel itself is in a good central location within Ayr so easy to get out and about.

You get breakfast in the cafe next door and the selection and quality is great, the Full Scottish Breakfast was a winner.

The staff we met were all helpful and friendly and one person in our party cancelled and we werent charged any extra.

However, the rooms are really sad, 1970's decor and furniture, in desperate need of a lick of paint and some new bedding. My room was obviously an ex smoking room and the smell was noticeable. The single bed I had needed a new mattress as the springs were broken and the pillows were flat as pancakes and quite off putting.

Overall the hotel was fine for a couple of nights but I wouldnt stay any longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

A nice little hotel in the centre of Ayr close to the high street where all the shops are and bars are just across the road. The restaurant is very nice I would highly recommend the puddings. The rooms were clean and aple size just what you need for a weekend away. Very good value for money as we even got the rooms a little cheaper than the price quoted on the website

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccystidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I booked to stay at this hotel in 2009 at one price which was quoted only to be told about a couple of days before we were due to go to the hotel that the price was almost doubled to higher price than what we were quoted, when I challeged them with this information they said that the girl who took the booking was new and she did not know that the price was supposed to be what they had quoted me when they confirmed my booking for the sceond time, I doubt this as when you work for a hotel there is something called a price list for anyone who enquires about the nightly rates, the only reason they doubled the price was because for the days that we wanted to stay the British Golf Open Championships was on and that is the only reason as when we looked a couple of weeks later the price was dropped back to the original price that we were quoted by the so called girl who did not know what the price was and for that reason I would never book with this hotel AGAIN !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank dustyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My father booked me into this hotel as I was traveling from England to Scotland for my brothers funeral, the room was smelly and dingy, it looked over a set of trafic lights and the road was used constant (which is no suprise), the buses made a screeching noise everytime they stopped at the lights. For breakfast you had to come out the hotel and pop in next door, but I can honestly say that the breakfast was good value. Apart from that I wouldnt be staying there ever again.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

i ended up at this hotel late on a Saturday night, as the previous hotel i had booked into was a complete disgrace(ayr station ).brilliantly situated as its just across from the station.bedroom and bathroom were spotless and all in good condition .the LCD TV with free view was a nice surprise.the dinner in the bar was great.and thanks to the night porter who was so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunworshipper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This small hotel is in the centre of Ayr, very convenient for the railway station and shops, cafes and restaurants. This is a small hotel, so there is no lift, which might be a problem for some.
The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice spacious bathroom. The decor is rather old fashioned (a bit of white paint around windows and doors would work wonders), but not oppressive. Bed was comfortable, and unlike some reviewers, we had no problems with street noise, although it was a Saturday night. One huge relief here was being able to open the window properly - unlike many hotel chains which now deny their guests this basic right to fresh air. The only thing I didn't like was the music playing at the bottom of the staircase - you couldn't hear it in the room, but why have it at all?

Check in was excellent - the staff were really welcoming and efficient.

Breakfast is in the cafe next door - lovely coffee, nice service, lovely muesli with fresh strawberries and blueberries, but the traditional breakfast only ok (potato scone tasted as if it had been cooked in lard, sausage not great, 'multigrain' bread toast rather dry). However, there were vegetarian and continental options. But why oh why is it impossible to find any hotel in Scotland offering kippers for breakfast? Kippers are a Scottish speciality, they are delicious, so why no kippers?

Overall a good choice for one or two nights in Ayr.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poussis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

the a&g is at top of town centre,therefore it is a busy part of town ,with shops ,pubs etc in the vicinity.It is a good base to start from ,though the car park is on the small side but it is limited for space.For what you pay rooms are adequate and clean although a bit old fashioned.Could perhaps upgrade tv,s as they are a bit on the old side but all in all a comfortable stay.We have stayed over night on a few occassions and would always book here first.Have never had problems with noise ,seagulls, or feisty receptionists!!!! Saying that it is a hotel in a busy town centre so if you dont want noise there are plenty other options in ayr where you will undoubtably pay more for that privelage.So all in all a nice family hotel which could do with a little upgrading in certain areas,would certainly book her e again.

Room Tip: fantastic shower,tv a bit on the old side but comfortable and clean no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cygnusdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel

Address: 1 Killoch Place, Ayr KA7 2EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range: £44 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Ayrshire and Galloway Hotel our aim is to make you feel at home, with all the facilities of home, apart from the cooking and the washing up of course! Choose from singles, doubles or family rooms all with steaming hot showers and baths, tea and coffee making facilities, comfy beds and fluffy pillows. As Ayr's Premier town centre hotel we pride ourself in our quality service, delicious freshly prepared food, cold beer, extensive wine list and friendly, helpful staff. We are the perfect base if you are golfing, racing, walking, visiting friends or even just getting away from the hustle and bustle of life with a few days break at the seaside. We are 2 mins from the train station, 10 mins from Glasgow Prestwick Airport and 2 mins from the Racecourse. With private off street parking and 24/7 porter service The Ayrshire and Galloway hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Ayr. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing