We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I had our third visit to this hotel. We had our daughter and grandson with us this time. The staff are so friendly and helpful.. The hotel could do with a face lift but the location makes up for that. The food in the hotel is very good and reasonably priced.. Breakfast is served next door and is one of the best breakfast served in Scotland until our last day. Now we were in a rush to catch the coach. The toast was served without either butter or preserves, needless to say I could not eat dry toast. Porridge served without sugar, I did ask for sugar but could not wait for butter etc. We never had any problems like this before and I think it was due to the staff member that morning. This hotel is very handy to the train and bus stations.

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the back of hotel as the frontm can be noisy.Don't expect a view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloraBangorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    56
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
62
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

hotel is handy for the town, based on a busy room. Had a room looking out on the car park. Bar opposite played loud music til 12.30am .... but can be 1am. Room was clean but dated, small single. Bathroom clean and tidy. Bed was probably the worst I have stayed in. Felt like the springs would burst through at any movement. So very uncomfortable .... breakfast next door are good, but sorry I wont be staying here again. Bar door was shut at 9.45 and the hoover was soon out, by 10pm we had to move our tables and our feet .... strange atmosphere in the bar, definately a place for the regulars

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middy1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

If your looking for a hotel that offers great value the most friendliest staff and great food I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat I just couldn't believe how friendly and helping the staff are,other hotels should take a leaf out of their book truly excellent

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Friendly clean and location is great. Noisy on a morning from 06:00 as its on the main road in Ayr
Furniture is old but serviceable. Slept well and for one night it was find.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graemeholmes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

very good bar meals here at a very reasonable price. good menu for kids also. close to the shops etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinascotlandScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The rooms are en suite and very cheap and above a nice pub which has good entertainment.

The hotel itself is in a good central location within Ayr so easy to get out and about.

You get breakfast in the cafe next door and the selection and quality is great, the Full Scottish Breakfast was a winner.

The staff we met were all helpful and friendly and one person in our party cancelled and we werent charged any extra.

However, the rooms are really sad, 1970's decor and furniture, in desperate need of a lick of paint and some new bedding. My room was obviously an ex smoking room and the smell was noticeable. The single bed I had needed a new mattress as the springs were broken and the pillows were flat as pancakes and quite off putting.

Overall the hotel was fine for a couple of nights but I wouldnt stay any longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A nice little hotel in the centre of Ayr close to the high street where all the shops are and bars are just across the road. The restaurant is very nice I would highly recommend the puddings. The rooms were clean and aple size just what you need for a weekend away. Very good value for money as we even got the rooms a little cheaper than the price quoted on the website

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccystidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel

Property: Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Address: 1 Killoch Place, Ayr KA7 2EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Ayrshire and Galloway Hotel our aim is to make you feel at home, with all the facilities of home, apart from the cooking and the washing up of course! Choose from singles, doubles or family rooms all with steaming hot showers and baths, tea and coffee making facilities, comfy beds and fluffy pillows. As Ayr's Premier town centre hotel we pride ourself in our quality service, delicious freshly prepared food, cold beer, extensive wine list and friendly, helpful staff. We are the perfect base if you are golfing, racing, walking, visiting friends or even just getting away from the hustle and bustle of life with a few days break at the seaside. We are 2 mins from the train station, 10 mins from Glasgow Prestwick Airport and 2 mins from the Racecourse. With private off street parking and 24/7 porter service The Ayrshire and Galloway hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting Ayr. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing