We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant afternoon swimming”

Citadel Leisure Centre
Ranked #34 of 41 things to do in Ayr
Attraction details
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon swimming”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are both 60 and called in for a swim , it was very quiet with the odd noisy child here and there.
The changing rooms are mixed and very much fit for purpose. The tiled floor was very slippy in the changing room though, my wife pointed out that the sides of the baths were dirty, on closer inspection had to agree with her.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank maciemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    7
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day at the pool”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We took our baby and toddler swimming and they both loved it. The diving pool floor is brought up to shallow level during the day and filled with water toys/inflatibles which the kids loved. The cost for a family to go swimming is very reasonable. Is a good day out for the kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grant d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coylton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grubby well in need of a facelift”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

place is in need of a revamp as quite grubby in places, staff look uninterested, by the look of some pool staff they well. . .prob couldnt save anyone that came into trouble or would be anoyed to have to do somthing. changing room are minging and always at minus 10 degrees. as of prices dont get me started going to stop everyone going just shortly creep up slightly all the time. gym is full of wasters and people on benifits getting use of it for nothing or heavily subsidised. while others pay a fortune to use it with these people. aswell as the gym staff not having a clue about anything in the place and not interested whatsoever. would not recomend to anyone

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank stevie8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grubby”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting! Pool always has things floating in it and with mixed changing........
Cold with leaky roof! Swim instructor Pamela was extremely rude and nasty to children. Not Recommended!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ayrshireguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could do with a facelift”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have been using this pool since I was my daughters age and it has hardly changed. The pool and staff are great but the local authority needs to give the building a make-over. There was a scheduled facelift 18 months ago but it was postponed/cancelled. The Gym is good value for money compared to the larger franchise ones but it is smaller. I have not used any of the courts or halls to comment on them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Citadel Leisure Centre also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Citadel Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing