We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestwick Old Course Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Prestwick B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the September holiday weekend. Lovely big room overlooking the golf course, beautiful view to wake up to. Hardip was very welcoming and friendly - chatted with her in the bar for a while (the bar is well stocked and well priced). Breakfast was really nice, good selection of things to chose from. Ideally situated - short walk one way to the beach/promenade and the other way to the large town centre. Had a lovely weekend and will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    18
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
31
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed overnight before flying out of Prestwick the next morning. Made very welcome and given free upgrade to a room overlooking the golf course instead of the garden - huge room, beautifully furnished. Lovely and clean, and breakfast was really nice. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionamac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed at hotel for two nights, we had a great family room over looking the golf course so we were able to wake up to a lovely view. The rooms were also really clean and spacious. Breakfast was really good, a good selection was on offer. Only wee complaint is no draught beers. Anthony is a great host and never seems to stop all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were given a choice of 2 rooms. Anthony was extremely helpful and courteous. There was a good choice at breakfast. The full cooked breakfast was excellent. The room was clean and we experienced no problems at all.. would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Flying out of Prestwick very early the next day we decided to stay at the Old Course Hotel after driving from Aberdeen. The welcome was fine, hotel was very quiet i.e. we were the only ones there!! We were given a massive room facing the golf course which was all we needed for a one night stay but would have been brilliant for a longer holiday in the town. We were leaving very early but we requested a continental breakfast which was provided before bed time which was perfectly adequate. Parking for the two weeks was free so for £65.00 all in all excellent value. The rooms at the back were cheaper with no outlook so we paid a bit extra and were rewarded. We will go back as they are very helpful and the location is perfect with the railway station a two minute walk and the airport 5 minutes by taxi and an Indian restaurant within 50m!! (reviewed separately)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My partner and I were catching up with friends in Prestwick and we tried booking this hotel (don't know how this could be rated at all) on booking.com. When I couldn't choose our date via the website I called the hotel direct and made the booking. To say that I was disappointed with the hotel would be an understatement. Our room was in the annex which I was not told we would be staying in. The "garden room" described by the owner was a dump. The entrance was dirty, the walls were all marked leading to our room. The room was dirty ie stains on the carpet, jaded interior, rusty bed lamps, chipped and marked plaster on the sloped section of the ceiling and dust everywhere. The shower room was disgusting. Crumpled ill fitting linolium covered the floor. The shower cubicle had black mould all around the base. The hand basin still had the manufacturers stickers on the front of it and the small bin was very rusty. I don't normally blog but I feel so strongly about the false advertising of this hotel I had to let others know. It was cheap but it was also nasty. Basics were not even provided. Best bit was breakfast and leaving ASAP after!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai12scot, Manager at Prestwick Old Course Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. in reference to our telephone conversation you did mention the rate of £49.00 b/b, to which you had seen on Booking.com. Booking.com clearly states the description of the block of four rooms to the back of the main building. The room was shown to you and your partner prior to you checking in. the room consists of complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits, a flat screen 32" HD television and Wi-Fi is free. They are clean and comfortable basic rooms.
The rooms are popular with guests wanting a simple and basic room at the rate paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestwick hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stopped here for one night this week. We were a party of four, and had a nice time at the hotel. We were looked after well by Anthony and had an excellent breakfast. Rooms were clean if a little dated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
0.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestwick Old Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestwick Old Course Hotel

Property: Prestwick Old Course Hotel
Address: 7 Links Road, Prestwick KA9 1QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestwick Old Course Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestwick Old Course Hotel has gone through many changes and is now located on 7 Links Road Prestwick,improvements on all rooms are being made. It is situated in the heart of historic Ayrshire, opposite the famous Prestwick Golf Club. Transport links to the Airport and Train Stations are easy accessible. Walking distance to the Airport(no aeroplane noise) and to Prestwick Town Train Station, next stop Prestwick International Airport ending at Glasgow Central Station. Walking distance to the sea front and local High Street shops. There is a selection of quality rooms available to our guests ranging from single, double, triple and family rooms. They provide you with excellent comfort with front facing rooms overlooking the golf course and sea front. Flat screen digital TVs. Free wi-fi internet connection with tea/coffee and biscuits. Free off street parking for residents only, based on staying one night, free parking up to 4 days depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestwick Old Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestwick Old Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing