We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here 1 night while on business. First impressions are of a very impressive new building, beautifully landscaped and very stylish and contemporary. Check in was swift and courteous. The spacious room was exceptionally good with all the necessary items at your disposal. Large comfortable bed, good size LCD TV and a very good bathroom. All looked brand new and everything spotlessly clean. I ventured down to the bar which again was very smart and well looked after by attentive barman. Nice sheltered area outside if prefer al fresco. The Logan's bistro style restaurant appeared very good value but opted for the main restaurant which offered 2 course carvery for about £10. Good choice. Thoroughly enjoyed. After a good sleep I enjoyed a perfect good cooked although there was a fantastic choice of Continental options available. I stay in different hotels 2 or 3 times per week and I have this hotel in my top choices now. Worth travelling the extra few miles if necessary. Great hotel, staff and food. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    196
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
126
300
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a lovely visit to this hotel. Reception staff particularly welcoming. Room was very well equipped and with 2 comfy seats a bonus for us as most hotels only provide one. Meal in Logan's restaurant was excellent, lots of choice and very reasonable prices. (Note to kitchen please take tops from strawberries! Difficult to eat when covered in cream!)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mazza07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I have been here twice in the last week. 1st time was for the 'movie night' which was thoroughly enjoyable. £27.50 for a 3 course meal and entertainment, which I would say was excellent value for money. The food was very nice and the function room was beautifully presented. The entertainment was also excellent and certainly had the crowd on their feet. Only negative I have here is that there was only 1 choice for each course. Thankfully I liked all 3 courses, however I do think people should have been given a choice of meal. Overall, 'movie night' was excellent! My fiancé and I then went for dinner a few days later, and I have to say our experience was superb! We were quickly sat at our table with drinks ordered promptly, even though we had not booked and they seemed very busy. The service was great and the food itself was outstanding! Meal portions were huge and I had the peppered chicken & beef in brandy sauce which I can honestly say is one of the tastiest meals I have ever had, delicious! Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Missyl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and i visited this hotel on 27th June with our 8 month old old son. The menu, food and service were fine, nothing over the top, but perfectly acceptable

As our son is teething, we asked the waitress for a couple of grapes or melon so we could feed him . we also said we had no issue in paying for these items


We were told that we would need to pay for a full kids meal if we wished this to be served, not surprisingly, we refused and complained to the duty manager of this situation when leaving the restaurant,

The owner, then called me on the Sunday evening after i has posted a similar review on a local website sincerly apologising for the inconvenience during our visit to his restaurant

Good turn around i thought, and a professional response and was told i would receive a written apology, this was very encouraging from an owner who cares

Unfortunately, still awaiting this response ..............................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We haven't been to this hotel since it was renovated, and remembered how good the carvery used to be, so we thought we would drop by and try it again. We had to wait to be seated , which wasn't really a problem as it wasn't too long a wait, unfortunately once we had chosen our starters , no one was around to serve. We eventually had to ask for our orders to be taken and I really enjoyed chicken tempura starter which didn't take long to be served. You are given a receipt to take up to the carvery and you can do this at your leisure, again there was no one to serve and carve the meat. We waited patiently in the hope that one of the waiters would see us and go into the kitchen and let them know customers where waiting, but in the end I had to approach a waiter and ask them to do so. If they are going to leave the carvery unattended then they should have a better system. Perhaps a bell to the kitchen? We got back to our table to find out drinks and cutlery had been removed , but the waiter quickly replaced them and apologised , I found this odd as there must know what tables are occupied. The meat was delicious and we enjoyed the food. The whole experience was marred by the service, but we for the price and quality of the meat we will go back , but next time we will be ready to wait a while.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonniePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went here for afternoon tea with a voucher bought for Christmas. It was very good value for money - £14.95 for two people. You get 8 finger sandwiches (4 different flavours), 2 large warm scones with jam and cream and about 8 cakes (again, 4 different types) - strawberry tarts, millionaire shortbread etc and obviously a pot of tea/coffee. I felt the pot of tea wasn't very big for 2 but you can ask for a re-fill which is fine. We chose to sit outside as it was a nice day .. the service was a little bit slow so not sure if it was due to us sitting outside and also that there was a wedding going on. Overall I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it. I paid double this for afternoon tea at a well known place in Glasgow and it was nowhere near as nice as the Carlton!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Been here a few times for the carvery, decent prices & selections. recently refurbished with a large outdoor seating area where the staff will bring food to you.
The carvery is one of the best I've been to with a large selection of meats & vegetables. They also have a la carte to add to your choices.

Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Property: Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing