We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June (only just got round to writing the review!) and were very impressed by the Carlton. Clean and comfortable with a large car park and good facilities, and the staff (particularly on reception) were very friendly. Didn't try the restaurant but the breakfast was good. On the whole, very good value for money. Our room overlooked the function suite at the front, there was a wedding in there on the Friday night and we feared the worst, but as soon as we closed the bedroom door ... silence! Never heard a thing all night.
Couple of supermarkets quite near if you need them, also the hotel is on a bus route so you can hop on a bus and be in Prestwick or Ayr in no time.
Wouldn't have minded more coathangers in the bedroom - 3 isn't very many in a double room, but they were those nice wooden ones so perhaps people pinch them! Only one slight niggle, the reading lights above the bed weren't working, we did mention it at reception on the first day but nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Belles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    196
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
126
300
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was very disappointed with the quality of the rooms given the price we had to pay there was a broken light on the head board and the table light was not working the double bed was small next time we will stay at premier inn and the food was nothing special

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k24048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We recently got married at The Carlton Hotel, Prestwick (5/7/14) Karen, the wedding co ordinator and her team gave me and my new husband the absolute day of our dreams! Nothing was too much trouble ( Karen must have been sick of the sight of me and my bridemaids asking for Various things) the meal was first class, as was the service. All our guests complememted the food, the service and the picture perfect surroundings. The Carlton is the perfect wedding venue and is beyond stunning. The gardens are beautiful and perfect for those special pictures. The rooms are gorgeous as well as immaculate! We cannot fault it at all! We will be back for years to come! Thank you for making our dreams come true Karen and staff at the carlton love the new mr and mrs graham xx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Was with a golf group playing local courses over four days and Carlton Prestwick was a good central location to reach Turnberry, Western Gailes, Barassie and Prestwick courses. Very contemporary exterior and interior design. Food was very good and staff was very accommodating. A popular spot for local weddings and events as we learned during our stay. Sunday brunch and dinner are also very popular with locals. Room was a bit stuffy but nothing overwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The breakfast let them down
Room very clean & comfortable, with a lovely spacious en-suite.
Evening meal was outstanding with very good service
Arrived for breakfast at 09:40 (served till 10:00) Bread in short supply as was juice, prompting required for replenishing both.Took about 5 mins to explain to waitress what we wanted for breakfast as vegetarians (Don't normally have this issue) Added milk to coffee only to discover it was off. Milk was replaced promptly, but no effort or offer refill of wasted coffee. One of cups had a crack right through.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimcG8735SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and always look forward to our visits. Reception staff very welcoming, Rooms spacious and very clean, lovely big comfy bed. Spent a lovely sunny afternoon sat on the terrace outside. Dinner as always extremely good, steak cooked to perfection. Excellent Breakfast in the morning, lots of choice. What makes this Hotel are the staff, everyone is extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallorytowers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped here by chance after driving from Skye. The hotel was great value with clean, modern, quiet, spacious rooms with comfy bed. The hot, powerful shower was much appreciated after a couple of weeks in western Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Property: Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing