We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly new management”
Review of North Beach Hotel

North Beach Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Glasgow
1 review
“Friendly new management”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed for 6 days at the beginning of March. I was informed that management had changed that day - a buy-out by some staff. I found the accommodation comfortable and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The food was also good and I had no trouble with the WiFi. I used it a lot. True - some of the decor was a bit dated but I believe they have plans. So it really depends what you want from a stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowImelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
21
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Rooms: Later in the stay we were moved to the North Beach Hotel again. The room here was an aderquate size with a 'dated' feel. Although the en-suite appeared to have been refurbished recently, the finish was poor and the shower was dirty. The hotel was cold throughout (including the dining area), despite having central heating. The hotel staff were happy to lend portable/oil radiators when required.

Cleaning: Daily cleaning of a high standard (except shower). Tea/Coffee/Biscuits replenished daily and bedding/towels changed frequently. Cleaners are very friendly and flexible to come back at different times e.t.c.

Facilities: The hotel advertised free wi-fi. This was only available in some rooms, as the coverage did not cater for all rooms. The wi-fi was incredibly slow when within range. I noted that some fire exits were bolted/locked shut when I checked out the exit route I would have to take in the event of an emergency. Some fire doors were wedged open.

Food: The menu for guests is limited. Dining for guests sometimes takes place in the bar instead of the restaurant. There is a choice between classic british food and indian food - both have too much salt and are rarely as described. On occasions the food I received was undercooked (cod, potatoes), not heated (*hot* chocolate fudge cake), or overcooked (vegetables, chicken). The service however is quick, and the chef will cook alternatives/variations if requested.

Staff: The owners/managers are lacking in hospitality and customer service skills. They were unable to resolve queries on most occasions. The hotel does have a number of other staff (cleaning staff, waiters, waitresses) who seem to always be polite, friendly and helpful.

I am re-writing this review having seen that my previous review was removed. I have been completely honest about the North Beach Hotel in this review (as I have done with all my other reviews - you can compare them if you like) and welcome you to contact me should you have questions.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnjohnjohnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestwick hotels

scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Where do I begin? I stayed here in October and November 2008 and it was the worst hotel experience ever. Don't be fooled by the website. The claims of new ownership are false, ownership hasn't changed.

Rooms: Dirty, small, uncomfortable, out-dated and tired.

High-speed internet access: Well broadband that is capped all day and is only useable between 1am and 6am. So technically yes they have internet access, but it's of no use whatsoever.

Food: Generally not good - at times uncooked fish, oversalty food, cold 'hot' puddings, etc. The currys were nice (trying to be positive here!).

Staff: The owners are in it for the money, nothing else. The staff (other than the owners) are underpaid, but very friendly and helpful.

Hotel in general: Heating works occasionally (this is necessary in Prestwick). Portable heaters are sometimes available. Beware that you may be shoved in the hotel down the road - not that it's any better or worse, just unexpected! Generally the whole place exists for the owners to suck as much money out of it as possible and to invest as little as possible back. Hence it's not a pleasant place to stay. You've been warned....

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmicock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ally59, public relations at North Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2009
First of all thanks to the reviewer for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very disappointed that his stay was not an enjoyable one. As responsible owners we view it our duty to accept bad reviews as well as the good. The points that the reviewer made have been looked at and addressed & we would like to point out that the comment about the broadband was valid due to an i.t issue which has now been resolved. The comment about the standard of food, while we are disappointed that this did not meet his requirements during his visit a new head chef is now in place. The moving of customers from prestwick old course to the north beach is regretable but due to the on-going investment programme at the time it was unavoidable,however this eventuality is mentioned in the text on our web site & it is not something we would do without reason. The comment on ownership, we have been the owners of both hotels for just over three years now so at the time of the reviewers first visit it would be only two years. Central heating did give us a couple of problems but this is now fully operational ( reviewer is right you do need it in prestwick at that time) although we did have a couple of comments from other customers that it was "too warm in the room". This brings us to the comment about the rooms being "Dirty, small, uncomfortable, out-dated and tired", this is first complaint we have had about the rooms being dirty, this is something that we take very seriously as the staff that attend to the rooms have very high standards as you can see from the comments of other reviewers,out dated & tired ,again this is suprising as other reviewers have commented that the rooms are comfortable. Clearly the reviewer that posted the comments certainly had valid points about some of the issues & we would hope that he would reconsider his decision not to stay with us in the future as we are working hard both staff & management to give our customers the best service & to maintain the reputation that prestwick ayrshire has for giving a warm & friendly welcome to both golfers & holidaymakers alike. Once again thank you for your review.

Staff & Manager old course/ north beach hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I stayed in the Hotel on a business trip. I liked the hotel because of the close proximity to the Airport, Train Station and Main Street.

The staff are very friendly and professional. They make sure you feel at home.

The rooms were okay and warm. I could actually view the historic Prestwick Golf Club from my room!

The food was excellent and I got a surprise fruit basket in my room, and on enquiring i was informed that the new owners were giving lots of complimentary give a-ways to attract back the clientèle.

I would highly recommend this hotel to the business people who want everything at an arms reach.

  • Liked — The restaurant and bar are very cozy and warm especially the bar view of the golf course. The staff are also very friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MurphieNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Beach Hotel

Property: North Beach Hotel
Address: 5-7 Links Road, Prestwick KA9 1QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This familly run hotel is the ideal base to explore the first class Ayrshire Links Golf Courses including Turnberry, Royal Troon & Old Prestwick. Set overlooking the 18th Green of Old Prestwick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your North Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing