We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have happily stayed longer”
Review of Clydesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clydesdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would have happily stayed longer”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My sister and I and 2 daughters had to travel up from Shrewsbury to a funeral in Bellshill. In the past we've used a Premier Inn. At £50 more per room with no breakfast included, I decided to look further, read the reviews for the Clydesdale. They were favourable and it had a higher score rating. We were not disappointed, our room was fine, clean, tidy, pleasant smelling linens and towels. Nicely furnished bar/lounge and sitting area. Breakfast dining room large airy and comfortable. Service and customer care couldn't be faulted. A very friendly homely feel. We ate there on the first night with our Scottish cousins and were more than happy with the menu and service. Scottish breakfast was delicious and served to the table. Help yourself to cereal yoghurts jams etc. Next time we are up there we will book the Clydesdale

Room Tip: the view we had was fine as a very built up area, room 12 smallish but very comfortable and perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swallowsrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    35
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
19
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had our sons christening here on Easter Sunday and had a brilliant time. The Buffett was excellent and very reasonable. The staff were great and they gave all the kids Easter eggs. We would go back for lunch or dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

If you want a hotel that is welcoming, clean and warm then this the place. Everything works perfect and presented well. The staff are pleasant and polite and judging by the quality of the food, the chef is pretty good as well.. The location is good with the train station, shops and entertainment just a few minutes walk away.. Great service, great food and great price.. can't complain about anything.. me happy. Will definately come back here in future.......................... :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed while working in the area and found the Hotel and Staff very welcoming. The rooms are basic but very clean and have all the facilities you need. The breakfast was brilliant with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. Meals on an evening were OK but not that much of a choice really. Bar area really nice to sit and have a pint before bed. Would recommend staying here to anybody, I will be staying again definitely. Ideal position for visiting anywhere around Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have stayed in this hotel many times while travelling on business. Its located in the centre of Hamilton making it close to most things you will need. Rooms are a little small, but the staff are friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem to be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here on short notice after repairs were needed in our house. Staff very friendly and we're able to help us feel at home in everyday possible. Rooms were very modern and had everything we needed. Bar area was great to sit at night instead of being stuck in our room. Breakfast was great enjoyed not having to cook all weekend! Will be returning soon for dinner!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped here working nights was always quite,service is very good the staff are always polite and easy to talk too. Would recommend this place to everybody who is looking for a nice quite laid back place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
5.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Hotel

Property: Clydesdale Hotel
Address: 12 Clydesdale Street | South Lanarkshire, Hamilton ML3 0DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clydesdale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Hotel where guests are made to feel welcome. Ideal location for both motorway links and public transport. Few minutes walk to UWS and Hamilton Park Racecourse. On the same street as Hamilton West Train Station. Retail Park, Pubs and Restaurants all a few minutes walk from Hotel. Ideal for visiting Strathclyde Country Park, Hamilton Museum, Chaterlerhault Country Park etc. If you would like to shop in Glasgow but stay somewhere quieter our hotel is the ideal location. You are only 20 minutes by train to Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Clydesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing