We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of Chiquito - Hamilton - CLOSED

Chiquito - Hamilton
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We decided to go here to try the lovely menu and was not disappointed! The cocktails were great too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    37
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Date night?”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dining out with my husband, food OK just typical tex-mex fodder, but we had a great time eavesdropping as the tables are VERY close together. We heard all about all the cars one man had since 1976, cortinas, allegras, vauxhall vivas, this took a good twenty minutes to get through and the woman asked at the end of all this if he wanted to go to the cinema for the second date! Maybe so he wouldn't talk? Next couple in at the table had an argument with lots of hostile stares at each other, she went off to the ladies for a bit and when she came back he told her there was an earthquake in Japan. Service is slow but the Margarita cocktails were good and all in all we had an entertaining night out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Becoming a regular!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A few years ago, I didn't like Chiquitos one bit. But now their menu has changed and it's amazing! I love it: free popcorn upon arrival, refillable drinks and a reasonably priced lunch/a la carte menu. The service is also great. They should start selling the popcorn.

One thing I don't understand: why would you choose Nando's where you only get chicken wraps etc when you can come to Chiquitos, get real service (rather than order yourself), and have more meat/vegetarian choices?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EM156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than last time”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had been only once before and the service and food was pretty awful. However, I'm happy to say a return visit was much better than the first time around. Arrived and was sat in the almost empty restaurant after a few minutes wait and was given pretty bland popcorn to eat. Ordered a starter of nachos with beef which was pretty poor so immediately thought this was going to be a repeat of last time, however the main course chicken skewers were very tasty and a good size portion. The cocktails and drinks, while expensive at nearly £7 each, were very nice.

Our server wasn't amazing but was sufficient, atmosphere wasn't wonderful but the place was empty, the main course was great but the starter not so. The restaurant itself is quite small but very nicely decorated with comfortable seating. The best thing this place has going for it has to be the cocktails. Value for money wise it's very expensive and not necessarily value for money, but if they have any special lunch or dinner menu deals it may be worth a visit again - but they do need to master half decent nachos, it's the least a Mexican restaurant should be able to do right!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like all the rest”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Staff were friendly, food was tasty but the drinks service was very slow. Atmosphere was upbeat with a mix of couples and families. For a pre cinema feed its ideal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carri-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiquito - Hamilton also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing