We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“british food with the inevitable Italian touch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avonbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avonbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“british food with the inevitable Italian touch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good lunch prices. Varied menu with lots of vegetarian options. Well prepared and tasty with good selection of vegetables and choice of mashed potato, chips, roast potatoes or pasta.

Well-cooked, generous portions, well-served.

Light and airy conservatory setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    102
    68
    20
    27
See reviews for
95
94
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My normal type is the large corporate type of hotel due to the high standards that one can expect.
This hotel appears to be owned by an italian family as there seemed to be a lot of pointing and finger pointing going on between staff!!
Booking in was efficient and polite and trustworthy - no swipe of the card!
As others have said, the key comes with the TV remote, never known a hotel that does this nor evidence of them ever being stolen!
I was in room 6 which is at the rear and nearly opposite the internal adjoining swing door that takes you back into the hotel.
Double room was clean with comfortable bed and pillows, lush towels and a very good shower, I wasn't disappointed.
i didn't sample dinner as we ate out in the town but it appeared to be very busy.
Hotel benefits from a residents lounge as well as an adjoining bar (Milano's) which is very comfortable with flat screen TV's.
I did have a comfortable night, other residents were noisy in the morning though, slamming doors, noising locking and babbling to each other but this is the only note, the hotel itself is very good.
If you are not a fan of the corporate type, then this hotel is for you!!

Room Tip: Rear facing room at either end of the corridor in order to keep the other residents noise to a minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed overnight on business - booked at the last minute. I have visited The Avonbridge for dinner & lunch many times over the years but never stayed. I was delighted by the level of service and the standard of the room. The price I paid was the equivalent of a travel lodge but the staff and breakfast were outstanding. My room was freshly decorated with a faint smell of fresh paint. Lots of hot water, comfortable bed and soft furnishings were squeakily new / spotless. I mentioned on checking in that I was going to a function and might need help getting into my dress... not a problem! "Just phone down to reception and one of us will come up and help you". As it turned out, I just needed help with the last wee bit of the zip but Margaret the receptionist was happy to help when I got down there. Breakfast was outstanding... so good that I returned to my room on the Saturday morning and fell asleep until after 11am. Again, the reception staff were outstanding and a lovely friendly phone call reminder from Mary got me roused and ready to check out. All in all, lovely family run hotel - obviously invested heavily in upgrading rooms but still managing to retain that friendly, personal attention

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davros69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Avonbridge in June of 2013. There was a wedding at the hotel and the orchestra didn't stop until midnight. Don't get a front room facing the road, it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. There is no elevator in the hotel so be prepared to lug your bags up the stairs. The bathroom floor was filthy as was the carpet in our room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the road.... very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcookab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We decided to try this place out one day once for lunch and had such a great time, not because of the food but because it was like being in the middle of a comedy sketch. There was a small wedding party in and as we were seated near to the table being set up to accomodate around 20 wedding guests, and were lucky to witness the "preparations" from ring-side seats. First the cake was brought in to be set up on a small table, well it must have taken the man arranging the tablecloth about 20 tries to actually set the square tablecloth on the square table, then the cake stand had to be footered around before finally, with bated breath, we watched the cake almost slipping from his grasp before being placed onto the stand, whew thank goodness that was over! Next, two different staff members went along the 20 places at the table setting out menus. Two mins later the man from the cake setting-out came along and picked up all the menus and walked away, only to return and set out the menus again exactly as they had been previously, followed with more fussing with place settings, tablecloths etc. Then the cake knife arrived to be arranged beside the cake, on the left, on the right, in front, then back to the left. Next in came the bride and groom, with their photographer, and at the same time a maintenance man, with step ladders, commenced replacing light bulbs in the ceiling! The photographer had her work cut out in placing the bride and groom and avoiding the maintenance man complete with dirty overalls, the shabby roman blinds, and all us other diners, appearing in their wedding photos. The bride,I must add, looked absolutely beautiful and serene and her bias-cut wedding dress was lovely and elegant. Anyway, food OK, service OK, entertainment Excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you want a good nights sleep and nice staff who don't accuse you of doing anything illegal in your room without proof please go elsewhere....trust me! I have had a dreadful time since staying here last week....x

Room Tip: Just don't book here....very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillieBunny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here on business for two nights in February. Bit puzzled at first as I was given at TV Remote along with the key when I checked in. I must admit that if this practice with the TV Remote is not 100% necessary it is not a good idea, because when it happened to me I thought if people round here mislay TV Remotes what else is likely to go missing. But this hotel proved to be very nice. Rooms are clean and of reasonable size. Not 100% happy with the use of soap dispensers instead of small soaps. Breakfast in my opinion was very good and was freshly cooked. The hotel is also well located. I would recommend this hotel to people I knew and liked. Yes really very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbrianworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.2 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonbridge Hotel

Property: Avonbridge Hotel
Address: Carlisle Road, Hamilton ML3 7DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avonbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton
Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing