We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”
Review of Avonbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avonbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Larkhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely place to have a meal, have never been disappointed in the welcome from all members of staff. The menu is extensive and I defy anyone to go to the Avonbridge for a meal and not end up having problems knowing which of the dishes to order such isn't he choice. The service is always excellent as is the quality of food and the prices that they charge. They are also very "family friendly" Highly recommend for anything from a coffee and a sandwich to a romantic dinner or a family meal the Avonbridge would be hard to beat

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    112
    72
    23
    29
See reviews for
103
102
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival a large carpark which was full shows that this is a good hotel with a popular restaurant. A friendly greeting at the reception told me all I needed to know. The room was clean and spacious the bath even had a spa not had one of those for awhile.
The bed was comfortable, nice and crisp sheets. Good wifi though out the hotel. Excellent breakfast, good food a little bit pricey. And the only issue I had was a noisy shower and not very powerful but still done the job.
Would recommend and will definitely be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited the Avonbridge Restaurant, on Saturday night with relatives from the USA.
Once again I was not disappointed and my relatives were very impressed with both the quality of the food and the service. A starter , main course, plus two bottles of wine for six people £140, so excellent value as well.
The menu is varied with something to suit everyone, the Avonbridge Conservatory is very well decorated making it a very pleasant experience to dine there.
In my opinion, the best place to eat in comfort in Hamilton, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsoncat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent a couple of weeks there when working in motherwell. Stayed in the standard room which was clean and ok for the price. Small walk from the town but not to far. Did not try the restaurant but the breakfast was nice. Plenty of parking spaces witch is always handy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark2014w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute as Holiday Inn Express full. Not used it for 3 years. Room was on 3rd floor via dingy corridors and stairs. Room itself average with hangers that fall off the rails, a shower unit that makes noises even when switched off and creaky floorboards. Anyone walking past the door creaks the floorboards too.

Restaurant is decidedly average. Slightly surly waiting staff (male) but more friendly female staff members. Starter of bruschetta was burnt and tasted burnt. Main course of tiger prawn tagliatelle had 5 prawns in a tasteless sauce covered in oil. All in all very disappointing.

On leaving the restaurant 2 staff members were chatting in the doorway and one of them huffed when I asked politely for them to move to allow me to leave.

The Avonbridge used to be the only main hotel in Hamilton and rested on its laurels. Since the HIEX opened round the corner, I see no effort to make this hotel competitive and actually feel it has gone backwards.

Definitely not staying here for at least another 3 years!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Otinogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a function. The room was nicely furnished. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was well put together. A few problems with power sockets etc. I thought the service was ok but not brilliant. Breakfast was also fine but the cooked breakfast could have been better- salty bacon and poor quality sausages.
However, it was inexpensive and for the price, probably just about right.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Avonbridge for 4 weeks whilst in the region on work related matters. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Accommodation and cleanliness excellent. All staff were very professional and friendly. Food in the restaurant was second to none. Hope I will return to stay some time soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.2 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
4.2 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
590 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonbridge Hotel

Property: Avonbridge Hotel
Address: Carlisle Road, Hamilton ML3 7DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Avonbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton
Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing